Did Apple REALLY replace my logic board?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by modernpixel, Sep 23, 2006.

  1. modernpixel macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    So,
    I just got my really messed up PowerMac G5 back from the Apple Store where they "fixed" it by replacing the logic board. However, the behavior appears to be exactly the same.

    Is there any way for me to identify the logic board using the System Profiler? I have a profile saved from before the repair for comparison.

    If not, is there some other method to determine if they actually put in a new logic board?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #2
    Whats the point if its still screwed up. call them back and tell them to fix it right. G5s
     
  3. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Don't know if this always happens but when the logic board in my iMac was replaced the Serial Number in System Profiler disappeared.
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    It could just be that the logic board wasn't really the problem.
     
  5. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #5


    That's just because the tech forgot to re-embed your serial number after installing the new board.
     
  6. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
  7. -Jeff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #7
    The built-in ethernet address (MAC address) would have changed if the logic board was replaced.

    iTunes uses the MAC address to authorize playback of iTunes Store purchases. If iTunes tells you to re-authorize in order to play music that was purchased when you had the old logic board, then it was replaced.
     
  8. abrooks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    They never do.

    Best way to tell is that the Serial Number will no longer be listed in the System Profiler.
     
  9. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Thanks for backing me up. I was pretty certain that it was always the case.
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Ive had apples supposedly repaired and when they were returned after a few months later the same fault re-occured, got onto apple and they claimed no repair was ever done... So i dont know if the repair centers can be fully trusted at all...
     
  11. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #11
    Yeah this happened to me on a PowerBook logic board replacement.

    They also downgraded the chip from a 1.67 to 1.5GHz. Needless to say it went straight back.
     
  12. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Out of curiosity, Where did yours get repaired? Limerick or Cork?
     
  13. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    Yes, the ethernet MAC address will no longer match the one printed on the side of the box/case.

    Airport should remain the same if the dragged the old module over to the new board.
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Because I'm in Kerry it got sent up to the main repair place Mactivate in Dublin.

    I once took it to Cork repair center and all that happened is they sent it upto Dublin as they only do minor superficial repairs in those centres, so it wasnt worth the 2 hour drive.
     
  15. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    I was just wondering as I got my logic board replaced under warranty by compub in Limerick and they were great. Notified me when they got the replacement and replaced it on the spot while I waited. Was well worth the drive.

    The AASP in Cork took 6 weeks to reply to my initial e-mail inquiry (sent twice), by which time the repair had already been done for over 5 weeks.
     
  16. aricher macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #16
    I had Apple Care replace my logic board in my PB 17" 3 times. The first time the bad behavior )not keeping battery charge) was the same, the second wouldn't start up without KP-ing and the 3rd was a charm - works perfectly now.
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    Really compuB are that good in Limerick. That's good to know, it would save me a haep of time too (plus an excuse to go shopping in the city ;) )

    Thanks for that. Yeah Cork are dreadful.. There were rumors that the FAS centre (where they do all the media stuff under Paul Nolan) in Tralee was going to become a repair centre or at least a drop in base which would be handy for us - but it kind of came to nothing. Oh well...
     
  18. riciad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    They were that good. Every e-mail I sent to them was answered within an hour and the fellow that did the repair left it plugged in so that I could make sure that everything was working satisfactorily, boxed it up and then carried it out to the car for me.

    It's great to get good service like that.
     
  19. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #19
    you bet it is.....i just went thru the whole iMac G5 PSU and Logic Board Hell in Glasgow....and S3 Interactive in Glasgow are totally awesome.
    I also got to test my machine before boxed up and they carried out to the car for me whilst i finished my complimenrty cup of tea..

    i Highly recommend anyone in the West coast of Scotland to go there and stay away from Scotsys at all costs....
     

Share This Page