did i mess up?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by troyhouse, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #1
    i bought 2 verizon iphone 5 device only and paid full price. i want to use them on t-mo and was under the impression that the gsm part of verizon part is unlocked? can someone confirm it?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    iceterminal

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Tx.
    #2
    On Verizon phones, the GSM is unlocked.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #3
    thanks for the quick reply, so it will work in usa with t-mo and also overseas, is that correct?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #4
    Yep
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #5
    great, i am keeping it then. btw, how or where do i get t-mo nano sim?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #6
    wow, that was a pretty penny :p does t-mo use the same nano sim card?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    TSKY74

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    #7
    Tmobile has nano sims. I got one for my AT&T ip5 and works. However I didn't think the version gsm slot would work with AT&T and tmobile in US.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #8
    eBay has them.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #9
    Tmobile store has them in stock.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #10
    I thought Verizon was CDMA and T-Mobile GSM.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #11
    Wow. This one wins as most uninformed poster of the day.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #12
    You can a nano size T-Mobile sim on eBay for about $5. Don't go to the store as they'll probably try to charge $20 for it.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #13
    Why not just go to the store and try and get it for free? If that doesn't work get it on eBay.

    Do you have any proof they charge $20? Link? Quote? Para-phrase?
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #14
    Instead of knocking me down, why don't you inform me then. I always thought Sprint and Verizon were on CDMA networks and ATT and T-Mobile were on GSM Networks.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    MVRL

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    well, that's false. They give out nano-sims for free if you switch from another carrier.

    ----------

    would be nice if ppl actually researched or know what they are talking about as opposed to talking out of their behinds and spreading misinformation.. just saying

    then again, a simple google search is pbly too hard for some
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #16
    Actually, there are issues with some T-mobile stores trying to charge for the sims. Customers who are charged can ask for a refund from customer support. You can find that information with a simple google search.. just saying

    While talking out of behinds and spreading misinformation is reaching epidemic proportions, the cranial-rectal insertion conflict is almost as prevalent. just saying
     
  17. macrumors regular

    MVRL

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    which doesn't prove me wrong at all lol?

    oh wait, that makes too much sense..

    schools need to make Theory of Knowledge a mandatory course it seems..
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #18
    exactly!
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #19
    Funny thing is, at no time did I say you were wrong. Schools need to make Attention to Detail a mandatory course it seems..

    BTW, your original response to ann713, you didn't read her post either.

    Emphasis added to help you out with this one. No need to thank me. ;)
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #20
    Verizon and Sprint still utilize CDMA. However, Verizon uses SIM for their LTE enabled phones, to the best of my knowledge. I could be wrong, or over generalizing it, but this is the case as far as with Verizon's iPhone 5. Sent from my iPhone 5
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #21
    Then, what's the purpose of you being a member of this forum where 80-90% of the members here are searching for answers and troubleshooting issues. You knock down people like me with your rude nasty comments. If you don't want to help, then don't waste the energy to reply @sshole.
     

Share This Page