Difference between 1.83 and 2.0 ghz MB

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Agurri, Aug 10, 2006.

1. Agurri macrumors 6502

Agurri

Hello,

Yep, it's back for school for me too. I'm going in Electrical Ing. and I need a laptop. The problem is , I could get a fairly cheap laptop PC and all problems would be solved (since most programs runs on Windows), but I've been dreaming for a mac for the past 5 years (yeah, I know it's long). Currently, the computer I'm using the most is a Athlon 950 mhz, with 896 mb RAM and an ATI Radeon 7200 64 mbs.

But, the point here is to compare both entry level macbooks. I'll bring another PC at my app with a DVD burner, so, beside the the Superdrive, the only difference is the speed. Is the difference between the 1.83 and the 2.0 is very big ?. Let's compared them witht the stock 512 mb of ram, because I wouldn't upgrade that until ... maybe xmas .

So, what do you guys think ?

PS. My last Mac was the 1st PowerPC introduced ... the 6600/60 ... humf :)

2. LeeTom macrumors 68000

LeeTom

I think performance-wise, they will be very close. I would go with the 1.83, and am probably going to do just that once I sell my PowerBook G4.

3. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

You get best value for money by buying the slower processor and adding RAM. The processor makes 10 percent difference in speed. Not having enough RAM can make much more difference.

4. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

I ordered my 1.83 today because the 2.0 wasn't much of a speed increase (I don't think you'll notice it with everyday use), and the DVD burner has a poor speed. Also I've heard of problems with the Superdrive models in that they're very sensitive to scratched CDs.

So I'm happy with my purchase. :) I'd go for the 1.83.

5. furious macrumors 65816

furious