Difference between Server & G4 Desktop?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by DreaminDirector, Sep 18, 2002.

1. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

DreaminDirector

Since I've joined MacRumors, I've thought of so many questions that I've always wondered the answers to. I'm a newbie but I've worked with macs for years (I had a IIsi with 8mb of RAM), but I don't know the difference between normal desktops and the servers. What does a server do that a normal desktop can't? I know this sounds like a stupid question, but the answer kinda stumps me.

Thanks everyone for all of the information. I've learned more in the past three weeks that I did in the past five years.

2. vniow macrumors G4

Are you talking avout Powermac G4 vs Powermac server or OSX 10.2 desktop vs 10.2 server?

3. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

Rower_CPU

Short answer: nothing

Long answer: a few things a little bit faster

One of Xserve's biggest features is its form factor. Fitting many servers into a small space is crucial for some people.

It also has certain perks like 64bit PCI slots, and software monitoring tools that allow you to see temperature, fan activity, and drive health.

Other than that, the performance will be pretty much the same between the dual GHz Xserve and dual GHz PowerMac (when configured with the same amount of RAM and same hard drives).

4. DreaminDirector thread starter macrumors 6502a

DreaminDirector

clarification

Well, i don't know, exactly. I orginally thought the difference between the hardware, such as the G4 1ghz dual vs the Apple 1U server. Whats the difference in hardware? And the second question is, what the difference in software? How does the OS work differently? (this is confusing to me, so please bare with me...)

---
    Well, that answered some of my questions, but does the server act like a giant hub for several computers? If so, what would the difference be between that and a firewire hard drive that you can plug and play into difference macs?