Different Root Password

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by blvdeast, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. blvdeast macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Cliffside Park, NJ
    #1
    I am in terminal and need root access, and typed su and was asked for my password. I entered my regular login password (i am admin) and it rejected it. I don't recall using any other password for OSX
     
  2. HexMonkey Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Just to elaborate, the root account is disabled by default. Using the sudo command allows you to run a command with root priveleges, without actually logging in as root (and therefore getting around its disabledness). sudo will ask you for a password too, it wants your regular user password.
     
  4. crenz macrumors 6502a

    crenz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #4
    This is very OT, but Nermal, where did you get this quote from?
     
  5. blvdeast thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Cliffside Park, NJ
    #5
    Sorry to sound like a newbie, but what syntax do I need to use? I used sudo ./FILENAME then enter, entered my regular password, and was told me command was invalid.
     
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6
    what exactly are you trying to do? Execute a shell script?
     
  7. blvdeast thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Cliffside Park, NJ
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #8
    Then you must make sure that the file has execute permissions.

    If you want to do this from terminal you can type

    chmod 774 filename

    Then you can try to execute it, if you get the same error, its possible the program (or shell script) has commands that the shell or OS X doesn't recognize.
     

Share This Page