Digichat with mac

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by usualkid, Mar 15, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    #1
    Hey there.

    Basically i dont know if any of you chat at any sites that use digichat? Well my problem is, ive just bought this new mac powerbook G4 12 inch yada yada. Ive never used a mac before, but already got to grips with it.

    One problem though. i cant access digichat for some reason, it loads the applet. but gets stuck at "connect" and does nothing. Now, there cant be something wrong with the java if it actually loads the applet, so im basing it on the inbuilt firewall, this machine uses.

    Is there anyway to get around this? switching off the firewall?

    Anyone else had the same problem?

    Cheers
    Uslkid.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    #2
    Did you install the Java update through Software Update in the Systems Preferences?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    #3
    no i didnt. but now im downloading :)

    cross fingers it works...

    thanks bud
    uslkid
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #4
    i dont think the firewall is on by default. go to system preferences (in the apple menu) and select sharing, i believe the firewall settings are under the second tab. turn it off if its on and see if that helps.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    #5
    hmm. i downloaded the new java update. no success unfortunatley.

    Also went to firewall settings and checked them, switch it off. and yet still nothing. arghhh.

    i guess its not compatible yet. damn you digichat.

    uslkid.
     

Share This Page