Digital camcorder selection help...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mueng, Dec 28, 2002.

1. mueng macrumors member

I am looking to blow some cash on a digital camcorder, miniDV format. I am looking to spend at most 1000 dollars. I am not a professional by any means, I just want a good quality camcorder to record memories. I also am going to be an assistant track coach, so I might use to record people long jumping or whatnot so I can look at their form.

In any case, I am considering a Sony or Canon, but I don't really know whats good. I'm just wondering if anyone has suggestions on a good model or a brand.

Right now I'm looking at the DCR--TRV25 or DCR-TRV27 by Sony or Elura 40MC or ZR50MC by Canon.

Thanks!

2. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

GeeYouEye

sony is always good, but if you want a light, small, camcorder go with the ZR-50. Whatever you get, make sure it has lots of Optical Zoom. Digital zoom doesn't really matter.

3. ChicagoMac macrumors regular

I agree about the zoom. Sony gets better ratings than Canon from consumer reports. I use the Sony TRV 740 (digital 8) and it works great. They say that the picture quality of digital 8 is just as good as minidv, but the minidv models are obviously smaller and the minidv cassettes are more expensive. The only thing I don't like about the Sony model is that you have to remove the camera from the tripod to replace the tape since the tape goes in underneath. I'm waiting for a dvd-ram version with fire wire output. Hitachi makes one without firwire, but I know it has to come eventually.

4. solvs macrumors 603

solvs