Digital Camera Help

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Patmian212, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Hey all,
    Today I bought a cheap digital camera, the inves DG3120 3.2MP. I brought it home opened the packaging and to my dismay I remebered I forgot to check if it was mac compatible, I look on the box and it says windows 98, 2000 and XP nothing about mac, so I take a few pics and connect it to my ibook and iphoto doesnt do anything, I mean usually when you plug in the camera into the USB iphoto imports the picture, with this camera nothing, it doesnt do anything. Is there anyway to make this camera work with OSX 10.4.2 oh and it also came with a CD of windows drivers.
     
  2. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #2
    Does it have a removable memory card? If so, just pick up a card reader.
     
  3. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    It has 16MB built in and a 256MB secure digital removable card, how much would a card reader cost and is it gauranteed to work with my ibook even thought the camera is windows only?
    Any ideas to get the camera working with iphoto?
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    Just get a card reader, you should have no problems.
     
  5. fayans macrumors 6502a

    fayans

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    MacRumors: Forums
    #5
    A 7-1 USB card reader shouldn't cost more than $15. Good luck!
     
  6. AstrosFan macrumors 6502

    AstrosFan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #6
    Make sure to get one with USB 2.0 so that it's a bit faster at transferring your pictures.
    Also, look for something that's somewhat small-sized; that way it's portable with your iBook.

    Good luck!
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Two things to try:

    When you plug it in, does it show up on the *desktop*? If so, you can just copy photos off of it.

    When you plug it in, does the program Image Capture in your apps folder recognize it?

    If not, then as previously suggested, you probably will have to go with a card reader.
     

Share This Page