Digital Video System

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by junny, Jan 9, 2004.

1. junny macrumors newbie

Hey everyone!

I've been cruising around a few of the online forums for macs over the last couple of months. I can't really seem to find the exact answer I'm after and I've made my decision to post it here!!

Basically, I'm coming into the Mac world for the purpose of video editing. I will definately get FC express and I'll also want to run Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Director, maybe Flash and possibly After Effects. (not all at the same time!)

I am by no means a pro, and won't be able to afford a pro's system. I am however keen to get a response on the differences between the following systems from a user/video editing point of view.

The systems I have in mind are:

1. I've been told that the top emac will do my bidding, I havn't really looked into that one much as I'm not a fan of the height of the screen (I always end up leaning heavily on the desk when I've used them at University as they sit so low!)

2. iMac 20" - 512 internal RAM, will purchase 512 for upgradable a few months later.

3. Dual G4 (any advice on this one would be good)

My budget is $5000 (Australian) and it also has to include a Firewire external HD and 20gb iPod.

I guess I'm looking for something that will run all of those programs, will not need to be upgraded over the next 3 years at least and will be value for money and still powerful.

I think I might be asking a bit much, any kind of suggestions anyone has I would more than appreciate them. I'm the only person in my world that will have a Mac and so I don't know anyone else to ask!

2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

Re: Digital Video System

You're not a pro, but you want to buy a machine to run $2000 - $3000 (USD) worth of pro apps on? ;)