Disable local time machine backups in Lion...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by devinh, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    How do I go about disabling local time machine backups in Lion?

    sudo tmutil disablelocal

    Do not know where to begin with the above command. Please help.

    Devin
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #2
    Not sure what you mean - you have the solution already. Are you asking where to go to use the command?

    Open the Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/Terminal) and type it in. Since you are using sudo (runs other commands as Superuser aka Root) you will have to enter your password.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    I understand I have the solution. Yes, I do not know where to begin with that solution. Kind of a novice here, sorry.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    #4
    Launchpad -> Utilities -> Terminal, then type that on the command line. I'd be extremely careful with sudo. You can do serious damage with it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #5
    Is there another way to disable the local backups then? Like other than sudo? I tried anyway and when it prompts for my password, I can't type anything. All I'm trying to do is free up space on the MBA 13" SSD to do a final backup on Time Capsule, then restore on an 11" MBA with 128GB SSD. Very frustrating.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #6
    even though nothing shows up while you type your password in terminal it's actually still typing. so just type your password and press enter and it will take effect. That's just the way terminal handles passwords
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #7
    This is getting ridiculous, I did that, typed my password and it states Command Not Found. Maybe my MBA is jacked up. I'm using the correct password to my laptop and user account.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #8
    It worked! Must have been completed in the "background" and I was expecting instant results. Either way, I verified under About My Mac. Thanks so much for the assistance.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page