Disappearing keys on the iBook G4

Discussion in 'Community' started by Lexbase, Sep 24, 2004.

1. Lexbase macrumors newbie

Anyone encounter this?

My keyboard has been replaced three times in 10 months by Apple. The letters actually wear off.

There is reasonable normal use. My fingers are 'clean'; there is no oil or other chemical product nearby; the environment is pristine.

The letters seem to be rubbing off the same way old airplane decals rub off.

I have had no such experience with any other Apple product. This defect seems specific to the iBook G4 laptop.

Does this ring a bell with any other user?

cheers!

Richard

2. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

NusuniAdmin

Maybe your just unlucky, ive had my ibook g4 for nearly a month and keys are still perfect :D.

When you type do you press right down and pick up or do you press down and maybe move your finger a little, if thats if then that could be the culprit.

3. makisushi macrumors 6502

Must be your technique...
    In all my long lived life, I have never had the letters rub off of any keyboard of mine.

4. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

Well... I've had my iBook G4 800 since Nov of last year and evey single key is fine. I use the keyboard daily. Yesterday was the first time I've hooked it up to an external keyboard (and only for a bit). Maybe it's the way you type? I don't wash my hands before I use the keyboard or anything special...

5. virividox macrumors 601

virividox

Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    this reminds me of a thread a couple months back with the same exact problem, yeah the letters came of the white plastic i dont think they had a fix other than replacing the keyboard or getting an iskin

6. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

NusuniAdmin

the only keyboard if had some rub off on is my beige g3's keyboard.

7. stevehaslip macrumors 6502a

stevehaslip