Disk Copy!!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Souljas, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. Souljas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #1
    **Done a search but it still wont work** :eek:

    hi, I want to use disk copy to copy some big data folders onto a DVD. But can someone give me a walkthough on how to do this from step 1, because i really cant seem to get it to work.

    Thanks
     
  2. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    do you want to make it a dmg? if you do then what are you on? 10.2 or 10.3?
     
  3. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #3
    hi, no i wanted to keep it a data file , and i run OS10.2. I tried toast 6 but it keeps giving me errors and messes up my disks :mad:
     
  4. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    if you just want to burn a data dvd, can't you just use the finder? it's drag and drop.
     
  5. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Insert your blank DVD. When it mounts, drag your files to it. Then drag the DVD icon to the trash (which will turn into a burn icon) and burn the DVD. Alternately you can ctrl-click on the icon or click the "burn" icon in the sidebar (if you're using Panther). No need for 3rd party software or Disk Copy.
     
  6. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #6
    hi, thanks for the tips but there is a problem, i cant seem to get the DVD to show in the finder, when i insert the DVD it tells me that the "Burning the disk cannot proceed because the startup disk is full".

    I have 1.5gb left on my HD, hence i need to transfer my data, do i actually need 4.7gb on my hard disk to even burn the DVD?
     
  7. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    i had the same problem. you see, to burn a disc, you have to have at least that much space on your hard drive because it copies the files into a temp folder when you drag them to the disc on the desktop.
    if you have an iPod or another computer, try putting some files on that until you burn it.
     
  8. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #8
    thanks, it worked. In future instead of putting excess data onto my ipod and erasing it from my HD, can i use my ipods free memory to the 4.7 gb ( virtual) memory instead of having to use my HD?

    :) i hope u know what i mean ;)
     
  9. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    i tried that once, and it didn't work. it has to be on the startup volume to work.
     
  10. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    No, unless you're booting from the iPod and have 5GB free on it. You can move some files over to the iPod to make room on you hard drive though.
     
  11. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #11
    Guys thanks for the help, but i have one other problem :D

    the DVD that I burnt works perfectly on my mac, but my PC cant even read the DVD, is it due to compatability PC-Mac, and is there anyway to make this better? thanks

    BTW im using a Apple DVD brand, does this make a difference?
     
  12. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
  13. Urdam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Location:
    Piedmont (Oakland), CA
  14. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    evidently so urdam...

    anyway, im not sure about compatibility with the apple dvds, and i haven't gotten the chance to try it on my friends pc.
     
  15. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #16
    They're formatted for Mac, not Windows. The media is not relevant.
     
  16. Souljas thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    #17
    Is there any way to format it for Mac and PC?
     
  17. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #18
    Use Toast data tab.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page