Disk Utility and resizing partition

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by bbfc, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68020

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK
    #1
    I recently installed Mavericks on top of my ML installation. I didn't back (yes I know!) so I decided to reinstall ML on a separate partition, (Macintosh HD 2) and migrate all my stuff across from Mavericks.

    That was easy.

    I then deleted the Mavericks partition (which was Macintosh HD). Then I realised I couldn't extend the HD 2 partition upwards, so I was left with this empty space!

    After searching around I found out that I could clone my ML image on the second partition using disk utility (using the restore tab) and then once done I assume I can delete the HD2 partition and extend the top one down.

    DU is in the process of copying the image over.

    Is all what I've said going to work? I don't really want to have to reinstall everything.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #2
    Yep... that will work.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK
    #3
    Thanks. Thought it would but wanted to get the opinion of someone who knows more about this sort of stuff than me.

    ----------

    Well it did work, and i'm now using the cloned partition. However, when I try to delete the second partition it tells me it can't unmount it.

    Any help?
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #4
    Just to confirm, you rebooted after the clone and you are positive your are booted to the new partition? Is the new partition selected in System Prefs / Startup Disk?

    Can you select the partition in DU, then in the edit menu click unmount?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK
    #5
    I (think) i've sorted it.

    What I did was boot for the ML recovery drive i created, launched DU from within there and that allowed me to delete and resize the partition.

    It did involve me deleting the Boot Camp partition - but there wasn't anything of value on there.

    I launched DU once i had booted back into ML and there is only one partition now, which takes up the entire disk.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #6
    Glad it worked out. :)
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #7
    I am looking for disk utilities kind of Partition Magic, Acronics Disk Director on the Windows. I want to resize, convert to ntfs->exFat etc. is it available on the OS X?
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #8
    iPartition will do what you want.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #9
    Please help me same situation

    Im new here btw. I'm also stuck in this situation. I went on disk utility and this is what i got now. How do I put it back to normal instead of two different HD's. Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 8.02.53 PM.png
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #10
    Nevermind

    NVM, I got mine to work I cloned mine as it was instructed in this post, than i went back and rebooted the one I cloned. After this i went to finder and renamed my Rebooted HD to "Macintosh HD". Than I opened Disk Utility and fixed it by deleting Macintosh HD 2 and dragged it down
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, UK
    #11
    I miss Mavericks. You certainly notice the refinements they've made as it runs a lot quicker than ML.

    I might install it on a separate partition.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #12
    iPartition couldn't resize ntfs :(
     

Share This Page