Display not authorized - why, and how can I fix?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Redneck1089, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #1
    I have a few seasons of Mad Men purchased from iTunes. Yesterday I changed my GPU in my Mac Pro, and ever since then I can't watch the HD versions - only the iPod formatted versions.

    When I try to start the HD version I get this message:

    "The movie "[insert title]" cannot be played because it is on a display that is not authorized to play protected movies."

    Is there anything that can be done about this BS? I've tried deauthorizing and reauthorizing my iTunes account, but nothing seems to work.
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    What was the old GPU and what's the new GPU?

    The gpu has to provide for HDCP, so if the new GPU doesn't provide it you're out of luck.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #3
    I had a Mac Edition Ati 4870 in it before. Now I have a flashed 4890. I am going to look for something to break the DRM. I'm sick of this copy protection crap - I legally bought this and I'm the one that gets punished, not the ones who are really breaking the law.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    Probably the 4890 doesn't include whatever HDCP needs. I hate the stuff myself - we buy expensive stuff and want to use it in our homes and we're the ones that get screwed. The pirates still get HD versions one way or another. The only people hurt are people who try to follow the rules. Why not go back to the working GPU?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #5
    Exactly. Gun control is the same thing - doesn't stop criminals from having guns, it just stops the law abiding people from owning them. I hate this kind of crap.

    I would, and I might, go back to the 4870. The 4890 is a better card but I am having some issues with it.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #6
    Sorry for bumping, but did you ever find something to strip the DRM?

    I'm having the same problem, 09 MP with a non-flashed, bought from the Apple Store ATI 4870 a 23" ACD. Funny thing is, when I move the video in QT to my second screen, a Samsung DLP being driven by a GT120, it plays fine.

    I really just want to kill the DRM and play it in VLC.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    You best bet is to use something that will re-record the video. Like to get rid of DRM music, you can use "Tunebite" which plays the DRM song the computer re-records it into a DRM-free song. don't know of any programs to do this for video however.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #8
    That's what I feared. Looks like the iTunes experience is over, and I'll be using bit torrent this particular show.
     
  9. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #9
    Requiem (I think 1.8.17 is the current version).
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #10
    I could only find up to .16

    Hope it does the trick. Thanks
     

Share This Page