Dissection an Imac Summer Blue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Verschoren, Oct 10, 2006.

  1. Verschoren macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #1
    Hey

    I've got a quick question..

    I've got a broken iMac Blue (Summer) which I'm currently dissecting..

    I've managed to remove the entire bottom, part, motherboard,...
    and I've now started on the top part.

    The Front display sidepanel and the blue backpanel are already gone.. but I'm kinda.. stuck :D

    I can't seem to find any screws, slots or locks to unscrew or open so I can remove the display itself..

    Are there any tutorials or picture references which can help me on my big dissection proces?
     
  2. orangezorki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #2
    STOP!

    Unless you know what you're doing (Apologies if you do - I know I wouldn't) please don't go any further. You're about to get into the compartment with the CRT. These things hold huge voltages which can kill (no exaggeration) and can hold them for years. You need to know how to discharge that voltage before you can work with that bit safely. That's probably why they made it so difficult to access...

    David
     
  3. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #3
    okey..

    thanks for the heads up..

    but.. I read it after dissecting the final parts

    but, since I'm still posting, I survived it :)

    anyhow, I removed everything.. and decided to take it one step further:
    I replaced the original CRT screen with a 14" flatscreen which I didn't use anymore.
    It fit in quite well, and now I have a second display for my powerbook.. in the form of an old imac:

    the result:
    [​IMG]


    what do you guys think of it?
     
  4. Macmadant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #4
    Wow that looks nice:D, what was actually wrong with the imac ?
     
  5. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #5
    cool. now you should open it back up, fill it with firewire hard drives, and have a nice looking raid setup. you could also put a faster DL superdrive in place of the slot load for an external burner to save wear/tear on the PB. :)

    edit: Oooh, and some good speakers, and a bottom firing sub. sweet!
     
  6. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #6
    it was dead.. that's all i know
    (I took it from a recycle container at the local apple store)

    a raid.. :D

    geniuous!
     
  7. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #7
    THE SEQUEL

    I added my external USBdrive to my iMaccesory :)
    I don't have a firewire yet.. so it's just a temporary solution until something better comes up.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
  9. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #9
    You should submit this mod to AppleFritter, after you placed the new screen in the iMac did it have room for say a intel Mac Mini.....
     
  10. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #10
    place enough..

    the entire blue cover is empty..

    it can hold a mini and one or two of those lacie macmini HD's.


    what's applefritter?
     
  11. orangezorki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #11
    Good to see you survived it:p

    I'm actually very impressed with the final result - it has to rank up there with the iMacquarium.

    David
     
  12. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #12
    www.applefritter.com
    the obscure, the unusal, the exceptional.

    Its a Macintosh Moding site lots of cool info i suggest checking it out. I think i may gut my iMac what kind of screen did you use??
     
  13. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #13
    I used this screen:
    http://www.achetezfacile.com/iiyama-prolite-e380s-comparer-les-prix-26837.html

    It has an easy to remove frame and doesn't require a powerbutton.
    It automatically turns on when you turn on the electricity (for lack of a better english way to say it.. I'm belgian :D)

    On the inside of the front panel of the imac are some plastic support pieces in the corner.
    You need to remove these, otherwise the new flatpanelscreen won't fit.
    If you do it careful and measure the screen first you can fit it in perfectly and you won't need any glue, screws to hold it in place.

    And be careful with the old screen, like orangezorki said!

    Btw: I added an applefritter project of my iMaccessory.
     
  14. kgarchar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #14
    so, i'm getting a mac mini in a few days, it's going to my girlfriend. she has wanted an imac(colored) for ages, so i want to do this whole mac mini into an imac. is there any way i can use the actual monitor in the imac, or should i replace it. i have a few 15 in monitors that i'd be able to use, would that work inside? or do i need a 14 in screen
     
  15. Verschoren thread starter macrumors regular

    Verschoren

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #15
    it's a 15"..
    did a little typo a few post above..

    but.. you should mesure it. not every 15" has the same size..


    installing a mac mini shouldn't be that hard.. only problem that could occur is lining up the mini's dvd drive with the cd opening from the imac..

    and you need to find a way to reach the on-off button :)
    Although.. sleep mode is also a solution.

    And you would need a few USB extension cords to connect the mini to the ports on the side of the imac

    Using the original screen means: no place for anything else anymore..
    you should really go for a flatscreen 15 or 14" display..
     
  16. kgarchar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #16
    yeah, that's what i figured, i didn't see that yours was an lcd, i thought it was just a flatscreen lcd or something. i am getting the same imac (233/summer blue) from craigslist for $20
     

Share This Page