Disuaded from dual core

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by cube, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    So, the dual core Power Macs do not have SATA II? Now I don't want to buy it.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #2
    Technically, there is no such thing as SATA II. At least not yet.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    They also lack 4GB SLI-2 video cards, DDR3, and aren't fast enough that they give you the answer to a question before you ask it. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #4
    It's not that bad actually :p

    My PC support "SATA II". ie. 300mb/s SATA, plus a few other improvements.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    I think the dual core machines stand quite well with the current technology.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    What do you mean? There are already 3 Gbps SATA II drives, like the Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
     
  7. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #7
    But there are 3 PCIe expansion slots, so complaining about something you can add to the machine in the future is a little pointless.

    Apple updated the Northbridge and the HT Tunnel (aka PCI Express Chip), don't expect them to make any changes to the KeyLargo2 I/O chip before the switch to Intel.

    Plus most of the stuff on the I/O chip is PCI-based anyways.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    Umm, Cube... I think you're crazy.

    The Quad G5 is truckin'!!!

    So, I guess 4 processors at 2.5Ghz, 16GB of DDR2 RAM, and an optional 512MB Video card is just too lame for you. Oh, you were complaining about the 1 Terabyte of HD space?
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #9
    What I was saying was that the SATA II name is wrong. There is no such thing. SATA II was just the name of the organization that works on the SATA specifications (which, btw, has changed name now).

    A better name whould perhaps be SATA/300, or SATA 3Gb/s.

    I'm just nitpicking here. I was also slightly dissapointed that they didn't support it, but I don't think that issue whould keep me from buying the new PowerMacs.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    Yeah. I know it's a misnomer but that's what everybody calls that set of specifications. Some things called SATA II are still 1.5 Gbps because it's other stuff that they support.
     

Share This Page