*.dmg's Download as *.dms

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by edesignuk, Oct 22, 2003.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    Whenever I download a *.dmg in Safari it saves it at a *.dms. Any ideas what's up?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Re: *.dmg's Download as *.dms

    There must be some error in your extension mapping. I have seen a similar problem with Gecko-based browsers, but never before with Safari. I am not familiar with the *.dms extension, so I don't know what may have caused the problem. However, all you really have to do is to change the extension to the correct one.
     
  3. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Re: Re: *.dmg's Download as *.dms

    I know, and that's what I have done, just renamed the file after download, it's just annoying that's all.
     
  4. nea-ic3man macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #4
    download speed download and then uninstall it and all your problems will go away
     
  5. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #5
    Or! Write a new folder action to auto rename .DMS files to .DMG files! Okay so that's probably not the slickest idea in the world but could be a temp fix...
     
  6. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    isnt .dms some file archive thing from amiga?
    Weird.
     
  7. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Good god! This thread is from October last year!!! Why has it been dug up? :confused: :rolleyes:
     
  8. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    i have no idea :D i didnt bump it up :p

    did you solve your problem anyway?
     
  9. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    lmao, yes, of course, I've had a whole new OS since then! and a couple of versions of safari :eek:
     
  10. nea-ic3man macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #10
    well i did a google search on this issue, and found no answers just questions on how to fix this. therefore when i found the answer i decided to post it ;)
     

Share This Page