DNS, I am dumb, help

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by MrMacMan, Apr 29, 2003.

  1. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #1
    I made one it aint working...

    Anyone have good programs etc?
    I have ABSOULTLY no Idea on this stuff. I'm generall guy, I know a little of all.

    I'm stupid, I created an account I got this program 'DNSUpdate' but it seems to
    a) not work
    b) I'm a moron who doesn't know how to run it
    c) I'm a moron.

    3 Basic things: (if any ONE thing is possible I'll be happy)
    FTP: put up some music, some downloading, I'd like other people than myself to see it
    Music (iTunes) sharing: Everyone else did it, I failed miserably.
    (hardest, probably) If the FTP aint possible how about a main page with some text and links to files.

    I know I'm asking for alot, but alot of people here know what they are doing, I have no damn clue...

    Thanks, in advanced, MrMacMan.
     
  2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #2
    be more specific than... "it doesn't work"

    example...my original problem, which i fixed

    normally, the outside world sees my computer with the IP address (fake example) 128.x1.x2.x3...even Aquamon tells me that this is my IP address....BUT...if i go in to the sharing preference pane, and looking at my NETWORK ADDRESS. here is looks like xx1-x2-x3-dhcp.reshalls.umn.edu, because that's how my college network looks at my computer. finally understanding that, i went to www.no-ip.com and set up an account and used a CNAME address to point to my network address...ba-da-bing-ba-da-boom...everything works! now my DNS is mnkeybsness.no-ip.com

    the problem with this is that i can't use any DNSUpdate or other software, i have to go to the website and change it manually.
     
  3. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #3
    Okay, I was expecting a blank page at my site, but there was an connection error basically saying, I suck and I cannot make a homepage.

    Acually it looked like here... which is mine, which suddenly appears out of no where...

    wow, where the hell did that come from... I was just at my, errrr...

    okay so I have the apache page... now look above for what I want...
     
  4. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #4
    WHAT?...the DNS does not resolve to any page at all...not even the default apache page.

    but...if others can see your computer, have them type this...

    for windows, go to windows explorer or IE and type
    on os X, click the Finder, then the "GO" menu, then "connect to server" and have them type in just your dns
     
  5. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #5
    on my screen currently (unlike before) I see the apache thing. The web server message that you have a blank site.

    Well it is open on my side...
     
  6. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #6
    are you on a large network?

    i am running os x server and i had to change the port number that the webserver ran off in order for anyone off of my subnet to access it...so now it's html://mnkeybsness.no-ip.com:*portnumber*
     
  7. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    can you access my site?
     
  8. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #8
    nope...it just keeps trying to load for a minute and then says could not open page after trying for 60 seconds
     
  9. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
  10. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #10
    don't give up man...try checking out a different dns service provider...

    instant message me if you want...but i don't always answer cause i just leave aim on all the time...

    mnkeybsness
     

Share This Page