Do I need a firewall?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by kaizer, May 14, 2003.

1. kaizer macrumors member

Hello there.

I'm new to Mac. I know there's a built in firewall in OS X but is it sufficient? I mean, for example in Windows XP there's a some sort of built in firewall, but it's sloppy and most people tends to get one installed in their machine.

So my question is, do I need one or the built in firewall good enough? When I run Win98 on my old PC, I have downloaded a firewall and it beeps whenever it see something suspicious. The one on the Mac doesn't beep... am I safe to assume that it will take care of me?

The reason for asking this is that I frequent wireless hotspot alot and I don't want some dude to access my iBook without my permission.

Sorry for asking a dumb question, but I'm still a newbie...

Thanks!

2. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

hugemullens

The firewall in OS X is very good. If your looking for more configuration options check out brickhouse. But the OS X firewall is more than enough.

3. janey macrumors 603

janey

sunshield is pretty good but if you're a n00b to the computer world, then i suggest that you should go with the built in firewall in OS X. it's pretty good but if you're gonna share libraries using iTunes or send files to people via iChat, you need to open those ports afterwards.

4. proxyma macrumors newbie

What you really need is an IDS
    Intrusion Detection System
    Henwen (freeware) is very good
    You can use it in combo with NetBarrier.

5. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

mmmdreg

I've never known anyone who's been attacked over the net. I used to use Norton but that was kinda stupid. I have my OSX one on sometimes but it doesn't seem needed at all.

6. Rufus macrumors newbie

Never seen anyone attacked over the net? Hard to believe.

I've witnessed many unidentified port scans and I've seen several PC friends computers attacked and turned into worm spreaders. Mac = Security through obscurity!