Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

.mark.

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 28, 2007
Jersey, C.I.
I am going to get a mac mini and use it as a home server. It will be used for

1. Time Machine server
  2. File sharing
  3. iTunes server

is there any benefit to me in getting os x server? from what I've read standard os x can do all these things OK - am I right? Would I see any benefits using os x server?

iowamensan

macrumors 6502
Feb 19, 2006
No benefits whatsoever. You can do all of those things with plain OS X. (I haven't actually done the Time Machine server, but I see no reason why it wouldn't work)

.mark.

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 28, 2007
Jersey, C.I.
You would have far more benefits if you used FreeBSD if you ask me.

could you expand on that please? I've no linux experience. can I run iTunes on FreeBSD? I can't see the TM would work?

I'm all for advice on different methods but you're gona have to explain more to me - please excuse my ignorance!

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
could you expand on that please? I've no linux experience. can I run iTunes on FreeBSD? I can't see the TM would work?

I'm all for advice on different methods but you're gona have to explain more to me - please excuse my ignorance!

FreeBSD is Unix not Linux.

Basically you won't be able to run iTunes or Time Machine but because they are basically just pretty interfaces built on top of existing open source software you can do all of that for free with FreeBSD.

All you would need is to setup an NFS server on the FreeBSD box, put all your music on it and then point iTunes to that directory once it is mounted on your Mac and away you go.