Do i need to reset pram after installing ram?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by generik, Nov 13, 2005.

  1. macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #1
    I installed some Mac certified Kingston ram, and it is acting up on my PB.. :(

    Is there anything else that needs to be done?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #2
    If your PB is acting up, then run the Apple Hardware Test that came with it and see what it says.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #3
    If your PB is acting up, then run the Apple Hardware Test that came with it and see what it says.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    Funniest thing is it completed the test with flying colours!

    Just pulled out the modules and reseated them *crosses fingers*
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Yeah, the tests are pretty hopeless. How's it acting up exactly? :)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #6
    It just freezes up.

    I did notice it especially likes to do this when playing a video in VLC.. the system will freeze with a sound stuttering over and over again.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Just return it if you can, unless you've got a PC that takes the same stuff and you could use it i that (they're much less picky). :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #8
    I manage to pin it down to heat.. when the ram is in the PB with the memory lid open, it works great!

    When I shut the lid, it crashes... probably the trapped heat inside is too much for the memory to bear.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #9
    Eh? Heat? :confused: RAM doesn't really generate all that much heat...

    Did you get Mac-compatible RAM or did you get the right kind of RAM but without the Mac-compatibility on it? Macs are pickier than their PC brethren over RAM.
     

Share This Page