Do I want a superdrive?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by addictedtorings, Jul 1, 2005.

1. addictedtorings macrumors newbie

I am another one of the "ibook update" people, impatiently waiting for an update/refresh so I can make the switch to Mac from my much-hated Dell. I am a grad student in History and have recently started using a digital camera for a lot of my archival research. This means I have a rapidly growing photo collection that is mostly high quality images that I want to back up in several ways. I would prefer to keep them in high quality images, as they are images of faded handwritten originals. Can these be burned to DVD instead of CD? Should they be?

I wasn't going to get the superdrive option on my ibook, but now that these files are getting so big, I was wondering if I might need it. Also, what is the price difference if I got a combo drive and an external DVD burner for home?
    I have never even had a DVD drive on my computer before, so I am not sure what I can use it for.

2. orijinal macrumors 6502

orijinal

you can always upgrade down the road if you feel you really need it. it's pretty easy to install if you follow directions i believe.

3. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

macbaseball

I would definitly get it. Even if it's just for backing up photos, you can get about 6 times the amounts of data onto a DVD compared to a CD. Just the time savings right there is worth it to me, and who knows, you could always get into digital video at some time.

4. CalfCanuck macrumors 6502a

Yes - but get a faster external ...

No question you need to have either CD-R or DVD-R backups. But be aware that CD-R or DVD-R are NOT ARCHIVE QUALITY, so you should ideally completely reback them up every year or two.