Do most of you enable firewall?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by markw10, Apr 2, 2007.

1. markw10 macrumors 6502

I'm relatively new to the Mac and am wondering if most people enabled the firewall on OS X or not? If so, do you use any special settings?

2. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

turn it on. be happy. really easy to change stuff.

Well i say this coming from a traveling laptop. If you be at home with a router between you and da intertubes then no need to worry about it.

3. bmcgrath macrumors 65816

bmcgrath

yep I got a firewall turned on. Maybe thats just because I was use to having a firewall on in the windows days that its carried over to the mac....

4. matthew24 macrumors 6502

matthew24

Behind a router. (HW firewall). So OSX: Off. (The less resources the better)

5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

grapes911

The resources are so minimal that you won't notice a difference.

6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I have the OSX firewall enabled on both my Macs, even though I'm behind a router with a firewall. I feel safer that way :D

7. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

thewhitehart

Me too. Doesn't hurt to be safe! The only exceptions I have are bonjour services, network time services, apple file share, and iTunes sharing, in order to stream to my airport express.

8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

Yeah, on my iBook, firewall up, no ports open, stealth, deny UDP, I think (it travels both on the home network and on school networks about whose firewalls I'm not so sure). On my iMac, which is always behind the NAT firewall of my AEBS, the same, except a handful of intranet ports like iTunes, iPhoto, etc sharing are opened.

9. eluk macrumors 6502a

eluk

Definitely on. Mostly behind NAT but as a laptop it does go out in the wild.

10. FrankBlack macrumors 6502

FrankBlack

First, welcome to the Mac Platform.