Do not disturb is not working...help please!

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by fuzion11, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #1
    I have my iPhone 5 set to iOS 7 and within the settings I have configured do not disturb to work when the phone is either locked or unlocked. I've tested this and the phone still rings when it is unlocked. Is this happening to anyone else? How do I go about fixing this? I really need/want that option to work as I don't want to receive calls first thing in the morning but would still like to be able to check my email and such without having to use airplane mode and wifi turned on.

    Please advise, thank you.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Settings, Do Not Disturb, Allow Calls From - What does it say next to this? You can set it to allow calls from Everyone, No One, Favorites, or specificy a different group.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #3
    Settings > Do Not Disturb > Silence: Always
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    I have it set to allow calls from favorites only… The caller that got through this morning was not in the favorites list though. I have it set to always on silence and it's also on a scheduled time from 10:45 PM to 9:30 AM
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    ...
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #6
    Out of curiosity do you have this tab on?

    I think this might be the solution to your problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Was the caller someone you know?
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #8
    Did you see a dark (non-grayed-out) moon icon in the status bar when the call came in (to make sure that DND was in fact enabled)?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #9
    If the "Repeated Calls" option is set to "ON", then anyone you have not specifically blocked can reach you if they call you twice within a three-minute time interval.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    Thanks for all the replies everyone…

    Just to be clear yes I understand the settings well and had them all enabled so as to assume that no call would be able to make it through my phone whether the phone is locked or not. I did know the caller, but he is not in my favorites list. Nor do I have the option of allowing someone to breakthrough do not disturb if they call twice within a couple of minutes. I have my options set to always and not only when the phone is locked. I did not have it set to manual as I have a schedule set up. It's set to go on at 10:45 PM and off at 9:15 AM… This caller called at around 8:45 AM, while the phone was unlocked.

    I wish I had a landline or an extra cell phone to try this out more, but unfortunately that's not the case. Can anyone else test this and report their findings?
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    So repeated calls is set to off?

    I have never experienced what you are experiencing. It always works for me exactly as it is set.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #12
    Yes repeated calls is set to off… I have it set up tighter than Fort Knox, that's why I can't understand how that called that through? lol
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #13
    It just happened again… I had do not disturb set to manual and a phone call just got through while I was using Safari. This pisses me off beyond belief! Is this not happening to anyone else? Does anybody have any more suggestions for me… But restore is out of the question as I don't have a computer to restore from backup from.
     
  14. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    Can you take a screenshot of your Do Not Disturb settings page? You may need two screenshots to capture everything - then post here.

    Not trying to insult you - just saying, it never hurts to have a second pair of eyes look over the settings.

    Also, if it comes to it, you can just back up to iCloud, Restore All Settings, then restore from your iCloud backup.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #15
    I would gladly take a screenshot for you… But will I be able to upload that image from my iPhone as I don't have access to a PC at the moment?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #16
    Here is the other pic. Thanks for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #17
    Ok - just wanted to confirm. I'm guessing you have it set to Manual at the moment?

    If I were you, at this point I would go to General--Reset--Reset All Settings. This won't delete anything from your device, it will just restore all settings to their defaults. You'll need to go through and change your wallpaper, Ring/text tones, Privacy settings, etc.. But it's better than a full restore and may fix this issue.

    Worth a shot.
     
  18. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #18
    Just tried it with the exact same settings and made a call from a landline and it went right to voicemail after two rings. And the phone didn't show anything (except for a missed call badge on the phone app that appeared when I unlocked it and missed call information in notification center when I checked it).
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #19
    Thanks guys for all the help. I'll try to run some tests of my own once I have a landline in front of me and if they all fail ill then have to reset my phone from within the settings.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #20
    From what I've read this is a widespread problem, being on different carriers, different countries and different devices. One thing in common is everyone is saying this is happening after up grading to iOS 7.0

    Anyhow, here is a link to the apple.com support site… Check it out for yourself if you're in the same boat as myself.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5356737?start=30&tstart=0
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #21
    I wrote to Apple and explained the issue. All I can do is hope they fix this in iOS 7.0.3
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    #22
    I have the same issue - do not disturb randomly allows calls through. Also What'sapp isn't silenced so it isn't worth it for me.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #23
    On my side of things...ALL my calls come through. What's weird is text or email alerts don't make a sound. They all come through, just without a sound...the way it should be. Once I figure out how to fix this issue or once Apple fixes it via an update I will be one happy guy!
     
  24. macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #24
    Have you tried to Reset all Network Settings? Or a full restore?
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fuzion11

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #25
    I've tried reset all settings and reset network settings, all with no change. I can't do a fresh restore unfortunately because I'd lose too much of my stuff as I don't have the PC I kept all this iPhone stuff on.
     

Share This Page