Do Powerbooks automatically change DVD regions?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by colinp, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. colinp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #1
    My girlfriends Powerbook is from Japan, so is region 2. I tried putting in an iDVD made DVD from my US (region 1) Powerbook and it came up with a screen saying it wasn't compatible (I thought iDVD made region free DVDs... I chose NOT to change her Powerbooks region.

    After taking the DVD out and putting it back in a few more times (always choosing NOT to change the region), I decided to try running it in VLC. It worked in VLC. I decided to try other region 1 DVDs, and they all worked. I thought that was a bit fishy, and I found that her powerbook is now region 1. Did VLC automatically change the settings of the Powerbook? Does Apple have it set to automatically change after a few attempts? Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Linam macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #2
    No you have to manually change it and put your password in.
     
  3. Damien macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Canterbury
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Something like that.
     
  5. colinp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #5
    Lock as in it changes automatically, but if I were to put in another region 2 disc I would be able to switch it back (albeit after using up one of the 5 changes)..?

    Thanks sagain for the help!
     
  6. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #6
    The drive will not be able to be changed (locked) after setting it 5 times.

    Example -
    1st: Region 2
    2nd: Region 1
    3rd: Region 5
    4th: Region 3
    5th: Region 4

    It will be region 4 forever more (unless you hack and flash it). Never heard of a drive switching without user input. Are you sure you didn't okay it to switch the region on one of the "in & outs"?
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  8. pagartimun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #8
    How to "hack and flash it"?

    Thanks
     
  9. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #9
    Depends on the drive. The easiest is to mount the drive in a PC and run a software script through windows. There's some Mac based flashers but not many. They have to be specifically for your drive, if not all hell can break loose. Also, if there's any hiccup the drive is toast. Google: flash DVD drive, and I imagine there'll be tonnes of links to work you through it
     
  10. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #10
    vlc doesnt care about regions... dvd player does
     
  11. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #11
    On the DVD side, you can strip the region code with MacTheRipper, and reburn the image for a region-free DVD.
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    That's what he thought too. ;)

    Just checked one of mine, yup definitely region free. weird.:confused: Perhaps the drive itself if flaky?

    B
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Yeah, I was confirming it, although the :confused: didn't help.
     

Share This Page