Do sound cards work in the pci slot?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ejdge, May 3, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #1
    I'm thinking about installing an X-Fi in my Mac Pro. Will the card work in both Leopard and Windows or only one? Or neither? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Only Windows for you until drivers for OS X are released.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Also note you don't have any PCI slots. You have PCI Express (PCI-e) slots. They are not compatible with each other.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I have ordered this Soundblaster PCIe X-Fi card.

    It will only work in Windows, but that was my intent: getting 5.1 sound in gaming :cool:

    Mac OS X will just "ignore" it, as it has no driver support. But, maybe... hopefully... one day... Soundblaster could make OS X drivers.... ;)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #5
    Creative tried that once, I hope for all our sakes they don't try again. Personally I'm hoping M-Audio comes out with a PCIe card because I had fairly good luck with the Revolution 7.1 in my old G5.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #6
    The Asus Xonar D2X is a Pcie card, but no drivers for mac and it requires a floppy type power connector to work.
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #7
    Don't hold your breath.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Reviving this one.

    Finally got my Soundblaster X-Fi PCI-e card for in my Mac Pro '08... and it was worth the wait! :)

    Mac OS X ignores it, but both my XP Pro SP3 and Vista Ultimate 64 bits SP1 work gr8 with it.
    Finally got my beloved 5.1 sound back in the games. :D
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    Yea and maybe Microsoft will by Apple...
     
  10. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Almost got my hopes up... :D

    But nah... ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #11
    just a thought.... but can't the mac pro output 5.1 anyways via toslink out? though i don't own a mac pro, i plan to get one and i was going to hook up my home theater receiver to the mac via optical cable. will this work or will it just output 2 channel audio through all of the speakers?
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #12
    Yes it can, but it has to be pre-encoded audio, so DVDs etc. Games won't work.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    #13
    What will happen if you try to play game audio through the speakers?
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #14
    Stereo audio. So however your receiver works with that.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #15
    So if DVD's do it but games don't, why does this person want to install a different sound card into his mac pro? I'm no audiophile but how does the factory sound compare to some soundblaster cards?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    phalewhale

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #16
    Comparison

    I'm not aware of any tests but I'm guessing that the optical out on the sound card is likely to be very good. Would like to hear from any sound professionals to see what they use?
     
  17. macrumors member

    Aron Peterson

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Kaufman TX, NY and England
    #17
  18. macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #18
    so if you plug a toslink cable from the optical out to a 5.1 receiver you will get 5.1 surround sound from both pre-encoded and non-encoded audio?
     
  19. macrumors member

    Aron Peterson

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Kaufman TX, NY and England
    #19
    You could buy an external sound card that works in both OSes btw
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #20
    Well its a digital connection, so its essentially very very good. Just for kicks i played music video the line out, and then the same song through optical, optical sounded way better!

    No, for non-encoded audio it will send just the L and R channel as thats all the data thats in the file, but some amps can create synthetic 5.1, or just play the 2 channels through all 5 speakers.
     
  21. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #21
    Yeah, just for clarification:

    I have used the toslink optical audio from my old G5 to my Logitech Z-680 (which is currently occupied via toslink by a Mac mini which is hooked up to my TV, and the 6 Channel direct now to the X-Fi in my Mac Pro...), but only DVD Player.app and VLC.app could do something with 5.1 surround using toslink.
    Some games using experimental OpenAL for (like Doom 3 and UT 2004) audio made an effort to get surround support, but it hasn't worked for me.

    On the PC OTOH the decoding is done by the X-Fi card, and the amplifier simply directs the audio to the correct speakers. That is why 5.1 gaming on Windows is so good.
    There are Mac audio cards (like the M-Audio Revolution 5.1 and 7.1) around that can be hooked up to your 5.1 speaker set via the same 3 analogue cables, but hardly any apps or games use the onboard decoding...
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #22
    Well any quicktime application can also pass 5.1 data. You just have to set things up just right.
     

Share This Page