do they have any remote pc but for mac's? (remote mac)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tbluhp, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. tbluhp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    Like logmein.com or gotomypc.com is there anything for mac's that do the same stuff?
     
  2. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #2
    Apple's Remote Desktop?

    Edit: Are you looking for a service where people can help you out or a program that you can help others with?
     
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    I'm not real into the whole "remote desktop" thing (don't have a need for it), but isn't the sort of thing Chicken of the VNC is designed to do?
     
  4. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #4
    I am looking for something like https://secure.logmein.com/go.asp?page=home or http://www.maxthon.com/ (maxthon access) and FREE unlike apple remote which cost.
     
  5. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    What exactly do you want to log into, from where? Mac->Mac, Mac->PC, PC->Mac?

    You can access a Mac running OSXVnc, with any VNC client on the accessing computer. You'll have to configure the firewall of the Mac hosting OSXVnc to allow access.

    The same goes for accessing a PC, if it's XP Home and doesn't support RDC access. You can install a VNC server and access using any VNC client from any Mac, PC or Linux machine. The problem with VNC though, is that the server side quite slow on PCs and Macs. It's much better on Linux machines.

    If you have a PC with XP Pro, you can configure it to allow remote desktop connections and access it with Microsoft's free RDC from a Mac or a PC. From Linux, you can use rdesktop (which also works really well on Macs, if you want to avoid using MS products).
     
  6. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #6
    Thank you
    I installed chicken of vnc and I do have the MS one that came with my pc. The question is how do I get chicken of VNC and the one on my PC to do this?

    On my pc I would like to VNC connect to my mac and on my Mac i want to connect PC?
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    If I understood your post right, just follow plinden's advice.

    On your PC, download and install VNC Viewer. Run that, type in your Mac's IP address, and you can remote control your Mac from your PC.

    On your Mac, download and install "Remote Desktop Client" for Mac. Run it, give it your PCs IP address, and you can remote control your PC from your Mac.

    You should be able to find out where to download both by doing a Google search for them. Both are free.
     
  8. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #8

    Were do i find the IP address?
     
  9. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #9
    I found out my IP also I have firewall on both pc and mac do I need to do anything special cause it taking long time to do it on a mac?
     
  10. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #10
    I dont like these things they dont work it says IP address not found. On both machines anylike online services that do the trick like logmein.com but for mac users
     
  11. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #11
    Not that I'm aware of.
     
  12. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #12
    well I have the two programs installed one on windows and one on a mac. I typed the IP address from the windows computer on my mac and nothing is happening same with the other way around? What should I do do I need to open any thing?
     

Share This Page