Do You Agree? (20" LCD vs 23" LCD)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by triton, Sep 1, 2003.

1. triton macrumors regular

Ok, so I went down to the apple store today, and compared the 23 inch and 20 inch cinema display.

Now, I am no rocket scientist, but the 20 inch seemed to be brighter with little color shift when moving right to left. The 23 inch seemed to be a little less bright, with more color shift. Am I seeing what everyone else is seeing?:confused:

The 23 inch is beautiful, and I would love to get that display, but I need some confirmation on whether or not you have had the same viewing experience? I will be doing some graphic design/ print design work on these monitors and need the best of both worlds.

**Second, have any of you ever purchased a apple cinema display and had the apple guys at the store test it for dead pixels before taking it home? Is that possible?

2. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

Freg3000

I think the 20" does look better when compared to the 23". It is bette or equal in almost all respects, except size. :)

3. andrewh macrumors member

Yes, Triton you are correct. The 23" is not as bright and vibrant as the 20". I was in the same position when I bought the 20" Cinema. At the time, the price had just dropped on the 23 and although I could afford it I decided against it because it was clearly not as nice as the 20. As I already owned a formac 20" I decided to run a dual display environment instead of replacing my Formac with the 23.

Anyway, too much info I know, but the 20" display is simply fantastic and I love it. It depends how picky/obsessed you are with displays. The 23" is a fine display but it would bother me knowing the image quality is not the best available from Apple.

4. triton thread starter macrumors regular

Great, thank you for confirming my inital thoughts. It must be kick ass having dual 20's!!

:eek:

5. shecky Guest

shecky

the differences are right there on Apple's website. The 2 things to note are