Do you convert songs bit rate when syncing?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jhene, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. Jhene
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #1
    To save space on your iphone do you lower the bit rate if so to what kbps?
    Most of my albums are set at 320kbps.

    will it convert it only on the iphone or the file itself (on my mac as well)
    [​IMG]
     
  2. AnorexicPig
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    AnorexicPig

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location:
    Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
    #2
    I do to 128,and it will only convert for the iOS device,no change for Mac or PC.
     
  3. adcx64
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #3
    I dont. I love having iTunes Plus 320Kbps songs on the go.
     
  4. Mrbobb
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    Since this pane belongs to the iPhone tab, it will only do to the phone only.

    Be prepared to for it to take longer to sync.
     
  5. chambone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    chambone

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    I set it to 192 kbps, mainly because I have a lot of apple lossless stuff which would simply take up too much space. If all my files were 320 I don't think I would bother.

    In the end it's a compromise between how many tracks you have and how much space you can spare.
     
  6. Feed Me
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Feed Me

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Location Location
    #6
    320kbps? I'm sure it's 256kbps... unless I'm missing something (and I kind of want to be!).
     
  7. zepman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    zepman

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    #7
    Are converted songs only stored on the iPhone or are they also stored on the Mac for faster syncing?
    I don't want unnecessary files on my SSD…
     
  8. adcx64
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #8
    My songs come up as 320! Maybe im special :p
     
  9. DMaki650
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    DMaki650

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    South Saint Paul, MN
    #9
    I think 256 is for purchased iTunes music. I've been using iTunes since it first came out and at this current time it's 256. So you must convert your physical media to 320. iTunes does not have purchased music in 320.
     
  10. quietstormSD
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    quietstormSD

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Didn't think about doing this, even though I don't have many songs on my phone.
     
  11. Prime85
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #11
    I got the 64gb so I wouldn't have to worry about this, plus I have iTunes Match so there really is not a need to
     
  12. Beeplance
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Beeplance

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    Besides saving space, what else will happen if you convert all your songs to a lower bit rate? Lower quality?
     
  13. sweetestbaboon
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    sweetestbaboon

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #13
    Word of warning- when I converted my songs, I lost the artwork associated with any tunes that were reduced on whatever device I placed them. Don't know if that's something odd that just happened with my conversion or if that's the norm...
     
  14. Jhene
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #14
    thanks for the warning, I would hate for this to happen a lot of the album artwork i have are hard enough to find ><
     
  15. SONiC5
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    U.S.
    #15
    I did, before my computer failed on me. 16GB really isn't a lot of space, I'd rather have more songs as opposed to fewer songs with negligibly higher sound quality.

    I had the album art issue as well, I used to copy and paste the album art to the already synced song TWICE for it to show up on my phone, it didn't work if I did it only once.
     

Share This Page