do you have a PASSCODE?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EarthNeutron, Nov 12, 2012.

?

do you have a PASSCODE on you iPhone?

  1. Yes, and it's a 4 digit one.

    135 vote(s)
    55.1%
  2. Yes, and it's a complicated one (numbers + letters)

    18 vote(s)
    7.3%
  3. Nope, I prefer to take a risk

    70 vote(s)
    28.6%
  4. (I like ponies)

    22 vote(s)
    9.0%
  1. EarthNeutron macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    If yes, then is it a 4 digit one or one with letters and numbers well?


    (mine only has 4 digits)
     
  2. j.dstasio macrumors 6502

    j.dstasio

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #2
    I have to have a passcode for my work email. I use 4 digits because It's the fewest I can use.

    If/ when an A6 jailbreak is available I'll be using Exchange Unlock again. It can't come soon enough! I hate having to use a passcode.
     
  3. EarthNeutron thread starter macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    Hmm.. I actually have no idea what Exchange Unlock is. Could you explain it to me? Maybe I'll make a YouTube video so more people (including me) can find out what it is and how much better than the original passcode it really is.

    Cheers!
     
  4. macjram macrumors 6502a

    macjram

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    #4
    I do; I have it come on if I don't use my phone within 30 minutes.
     
  5. seeharrison macrumors regular

    seeharrison

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #5
    I use a 4 digit passcode that locks after 15 minutes. Since my e-mail client (Good Client) requires a complex password, I feel comfortable with with a 4 digit device code.
     
  6. s15119 macrumors 65816

    s15119

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #6
    For me to know and you to find out.

    Seriously I wouldn't talk about security measures on this board.

    Too many little kids.


    T
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    hey my pass code is 6781. What are you going to be able to do with it?
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I do, mostly because its enforced by my company.
     
  9. EarthNeutron thread starter macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #9

    I'm going to find you, steal or iPhone and unlock it! MUAHAHAHAH (and then give it back to you since I already have an iPhone)


    :D
     
  10. anonjd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    #10
    I use a four digit password when I'm at home.

    When I go out, I use an alphanumeric password. I generally don't constantly use my phone when I go out, so I don't mind the extra time it takes to type it in.

    These passwords also get changed once a week, because I'm neurotic like that.
     
  11. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #11
    i don't use a password, nobody uses my phone and if someone steals it oh well, don't have anything of value on here since I am only a teenager. Just get Verizon to block the ESN and AT&T to block the IMEI and bam a useless phone.
     
  12. ejrizo macrumors 6502

    ejrizo

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    I have a password but its none of the above options. if you set up a so called complex pass code with just numbers you will get a keypad as opposed to keyboard. From there you can have any amount of digits from 5 to who knows how many digit pin number and you have to press OK to enter it.

    look at the pic attached
     

    Attached Files:

  13. AAPLinc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #13
    I have an android "connect the dots" lock screen. :)

    When I wasn't jailbroken I had a 4 digit number pass code.
     
  14. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
  15. Nermal, Nov 12, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012

    Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #15
    Where's the option for "no, but not taking a risk"? :p

    I simply never leave my phone unattended.
     
  16. bmat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #16
    Yeah. My company requires a seven digit one.

    But it I'd worth it to have my work stuff integrated in one device.
     
  17. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #17
    I didn't vote, because I have a 5 digit numerical passcode and a five minute auto lock.
    You might want to think about adding an option for those with longer numbered passcodes.
     
  18. - rob - macrumors member

    - rob -

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
  19. andyx3x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
  20. mpaquette macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #20
    This is how I have mine set as well.
     
  21. JonMPLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    MN
  22. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
  23. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
  24. j.dstasio macrumors 6502

    j.dstasio

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #24
    It would probably be a boring video. Lol.

    Using the Exchange Unlock tweak, you have to enter your passcode once after an initial boot, but not every time you unlock it. Our work exchange policy requires a passcode, which is annoying IMO, so it's just a work around.
     
  25. sviato macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A

Share This Page