Do you keep your original DIMMS when you upgrade your memory?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by generik, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #1
    Just in case *touch wood* your Mac ever needs to be serviced?

    I have quite some little capacity modules sitting all over but I just have no idea what I should do with them :rolleyes:
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Do you have enough of them to build a fort?




    I only ever add memory rather than replace it so it hasn't been a huge problem for me. :)
     
  3. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    It depends. I have the stock 256MB chip from my first gen G5 iMac since it is still under the warrantee extension program, even though I have taken it out and repalced it with 2, 1GB sticks. When I took mine in for a midplane and power supply replacement in August '05, I took out my RAM andput back in the stock memory. I didn't want Apple to blame my non-Apple installed RAM for my problems. I also didn't want them "forgetting" to transfer my RAM over to the new midplane.

    Once it is out of warrantee, there is no reason to keep it around "just in case." Put it in another system or sell it for a few bucks on eBay.
     
  4. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    i have a small pile of ram, i should really make an acctual ram (goat with horns ram) out of them, just for laughs.

    i have everything from 32 pin 64k sticks, 72-pin sticks, both ram and cache cards, a fek load of pc100/133 32-128 sticks, a couple of pc2100 ddr 200 pin so-dimms and a couple of 256MB ddr400 sticks.
     
  5. bah-bah'd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #5
    I use to have tons... now I sell them all at the local discount electronics sales, we buy whatever place... I like the fact it takes 5 min and I have cash... sure you couls spend hours making twice as much per stick on eBay. woohoo
     

Share This Page