Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Totally Bored

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2015
I've got 2 external drives.

1 Buffalo 1TB 5400 RPM ext drive that I'm using for backup with Time Machine. I quess I'll leave that one hooked up and running ?

1 MyDigital 480GB SSD ext drive for my videos. Do I leave this one hooked up and running or unplugged and plug it in only when I need to access the Videos ?

Sorry for the newbie dumb question but I'm a newbie and that's how I'm rolling :)

Thanks in advance !!!

xmichaelp

macrumors 68000
Jul 10, 2012
I usually don't keep portable drives plugged in long just because I don't know if those fans are meant to be on all the time. Your SSD will be fine though.

Reactions: Totally Bored

JustMartin

macrumors 6502a
Feb 28, 2012
UK
My Seagate 3TB is plugged in the back for my videos and other stuff and that's left 'turned on' and plugged in all the time. However, it's got an auto power down when it's been idle for a while so the fans aren't on all the time. The only downside is that it can make open file dialogs slow if they have to wait for the external drive to wake up.

mscriv

macrumors 601
Aug 14, 2008
Dallas, Texas
My Seagate 3TB is plugged in the back for my videos and other stuff and that's left 'turned on' and plugged in all the time. However, it's got an auto power down when it's been idle for a while so the fans aren't on all the time. The only downside is that it can make open file dialogs slow if they have to wait for the external drive to wake up.
Ditto, most modern drives have a sleep or power down mode and thus it's generally safe to leave them plugged in and on at all times. I would only do this with drives that you actually use regularly or semi-regularly. If you have a back up drive that you offload data to monthly then I wouldn't feel the need to have that plugged in and powered on all the time.

Taz Mangus

macrumors 604