Do you need a special piece of software for this?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mashinhead, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    If you are taking pics and want to instantly view them on your laptop do you need softwar to do this or will iphoto handle it.
     
  2. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
  3. furious macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    iPhoto can't do it. it depends on the camera model, and if the camera maker has any software for you. for instance, for my Nikon D80, i need the nikon Camera Control Pro to do it.
     
  5. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #5
    maybe I misunderstand...

    What is he asking exactly?
     
  6. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #6
    Are you wanting to use your laptop to control your camera, and then see the photo directly on the screen?

    What kind of camera do you have?
     
  7. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #7
    i think he wants to connect his camera to the computer, so when the picture is taken, it shows up directly on the computer.. without have to manually transfer.
     
  8. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #8
    Right. The only way to do that, (that I'm aware of at least) is to have the laptop take the shot for you.

    You can display the photo on any TV that has an "rca" style yellow video input, using the cable that most likely came with the camera.

    Again, what kind of camera?
     
  9. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #9
    i want to be able to use the camera normally, in this case the camera is Nikon D70, the original one, not the new one, and connect if via, firewire, or usb, and see it on the larger laptop screen, as i would on the lcd of the camera right after it take a picture, in real time.
     
  10. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    iPhoto will import your image and you can view it on screen.

    FJ
     
  11. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #11
    with camera control pro, you can manually press the shutter on the camera, and have the picture sent to laptop after shot, you don't have to have the laptop take the shot

    with D70, you need camera control pro to do what you want...
     
  12. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    Do you want to keep the camera connected via firewire during the time you are taking the photos?

    FJ
     
  13. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #13
    -_-

    then between 2 shots, you need to

    -plug camera in
    -import photo
    -delete all previous taken photo since iphoto can't selectively import
    -eject camera
    -unplug camera

    before taking another image.

    clearly that's not what the OP asked for.
     
  14. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #14
    hey, i'm sure he will take wireless option any day...

    and with D70, you can't do firewire, you can only do USB 2.0
     
  15. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    I wasn't too sure exactly what he was asking :confused:
    I have posted another question.

    FJ
     
  16. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #16
    Sorry .... my brain isn't work as yet. Its ten to six in the morning here.

    Sorry

    FJ
     

Share This Page