Do you need to 'fully close' apps now?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by jabingla2810, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #1
    It struck me as odd during the keynote that Apple mentioned you can close apps by swiping up, and they only had about 5 apps on the recent apps view.

    It's a cool gesture, but is it now necessary?

    Obviously in ios6 you never had to close apps, which was great from a user perspective.

    Maybe the new multitasking system needs a bit if end user management, which would be a shame.

    Anyhow, anybody played with it enough to see?

    Cheers
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    #2
    ....what?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    San Francisco-Twin Peaks
    #3
    you had to close apps in ios 6.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Nope, I never close apps in iOS 6 on my iPhone 5 and my battery lasts all day
     
  5. macrumors demi-god

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    43,734
    #5
    No, it's not necessary to close apps. They become inactive in the background, with the exception of the multitasking features.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #6
    No you didn't.

    ----------

    Ios6 managed itself. I just wanted to know if ios7 does the same.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    South West England
    #7
    I always used to close my apps on iOS 6 and I still do on 7 it's alot easier
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    #8
    I can't believe people still think that they have to force close apps on iOS.
     
  9. macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,365
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #9
    1. Yes you did.

    2. No it didn't.

    This^

    This is a beta, battery performance is usually the last thing to get optimized.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,356
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #10
    If you use an older equipment such as an IP 4 or IPT 4G and earlier it really helps to do this now and then.

    It does free up memory regardless of what they tell you about iOS memory management of inactive apps. Ive monitored this on a JB device and experienced the performance difference first hand. Its not a coincidence that a popular JB tweak is to shut down all apps in one go.

    Of course, newer equipment dont suffer as much to make this an issue.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #11
    You disagree with me, but agree with somebody else with the same opinion?

    In IOS6 you only had to 'fully close' an app if it crashed, but the rest of the time it looked after itself.

    Anyway, was hoping somebody would know an answer, but it looks like i've just created confusion.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    #12
    You may've never had to close applications yourself, but I always would. It was more about closing apps to retrieve memory.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #13
    You may have closed those apps to retrieve more memory, but you never had to.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,243
    #14
    It always helped.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #15
    Do any developers or people who understand ios know if you now need to close apps?
     
  16. macrumors demi-god

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    43,734
    #16
    No, you do not need to close apps. You can if you wish, which is what was illustrated in the WWDC demo, but it's not necessary.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,156
    #17
    No, nothing has changed on that front. In fact, judging by the new multitasking APIs, it looks like apps will be able to begin background processes even if they're not in the "running" (or more correctly "recent") apps list.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,922
    #18
    Cool, that's good news. Thanks
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,031
    #19
    Do you realize your second response has directly contradicted your first response..?

    ----------

    There is a new setting called "Background App Refresh", which will allow background apps to keep up-to-date (such as Stocks, Weather, etc). You can allow individual apps, or disable that feature completely. When disabled, you will achieve the iOS 6 method which you are asking about.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    757
    #20
    You're correct stuff what others are saying. I have an old memory app on my iPhone 4, with most of my apps open my free ram is about 16mb closing all my apps mulitiplies it by 10 to about 160 mb of ram free...
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    #21
    On iOS like in OS X Background apps are inactive and their ram usage is inactive too. OS X asks apps nicely for ram. In iOS When ram is needed the app is forced closed and ram is ready for use.

    This happens automatically.
     
  22. macrumors 604

    cynics

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7,192
    #22
    iOS will do that for you though. If you open an app that needs 50 mb of ram and you only have 10 iOS will close an app (still be in the tray). This is why apps will reload sometime when you open them. For example on my 4S if I were to watch a bunch of videos in YouTube then reopen tapatalk, it will likely reload fresh.

    Ram uses power regardless if its retaining an app or nothing. The act of removing something from ram will use more power then letting it me.

    However there can be a slight lag when opening an app if iOS needs to kill another.
     
  23. macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,341
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #23
    If the apps were written properly, no you didn't. Pity so many of them weren't and would not release their memory, etc properly.

    I can only assume the same in iOS 7, which might include some tricks to adjust for such screwy code
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,071
    #24
    Examples please?
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Bawstun

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    #25
    With the new "updated in the background" feature, I suppose if developers incorporate it into their apps - you might want to switch off SOME that you don't use.

    In that setting menu you can turn on or off all the apps that you want to refresh in the background to be up to date when you click them. So, if you only want Facebook, or Instagram, or whatever, you can choose.

    It *does* also state in the menu that having this option on "may decrease battery life" the same message from iOS 6 about push notifications.
     

Share This Page