Do you recommend AirPort Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by carlosribas, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #1
    Hello,

    We have an old Access Point that we want to replace. AirPort Extreme is a good solution to connect about 10 users on the internet or should I use cisco/tp-link/whatever for better connection?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    errol

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    I would recommend AirPort Extreme if you don't typically used advanced features that other routers have. The Airport is very easy to setup and works great.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #3
    I dont use advanced features. My only doubt is about the performance. Maybe I can find better devices with similar prices?
     
  4. macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Our Airport Extreme has been working find for 3 years now with 8 "clients" plus occasional guests. 2400 sq ft house on a single floor and signal accessible anywhere on our 1/4 acre property. Never required rebooting.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    errol

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #5
    I don't think performance is an issue. If anything, I find performance with the airport extreme better than it's competitors.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #6
    An Airport Extreme would be a great option for you. They're perfect if what you want is an access point you don't need to manage, which I would argue is pretty much everyone.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    macs4nw

    #7
    Can't comment on the Cisco, but APPLE's AE is a pretty reliable piece of equipment, and a breeze to set-up, although not the least expensive of routers out there. I'd say read some reviews and customer feedback, and then decide.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #8
    AE is fine as a basic access point, and if you have a cable modem it works ok. I have run into problems setting DHCP/DNS on Mac Servers that are running as mail and file servers, as the AE is not configurable enough in these circumstances, leading me to have to setup DNS in a less than ideal fashion.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #9
    For a reliable setup with minimum hassles, the AirPort Extreme is a great option, while also delivering highly competitive performance ang great reliability. I prefer other models for more advanced features, but the AE is a great option for most users.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #10
    So, I think I can use it. Thanks for all the replies.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Brandon, MS
    #11
    I use to use 2 or 3 D-Link routers, a Netgear, and a Linksys at various times over the years before I got an Apple Airport Extreme 2.5 years ago, and the online times that I have had to reboot the AEBS was when I swapped cable modems when I had Comcast, switched from Comcast to AT&T U-verse, and then moved the cable modem from my old office room into the laundry room. The D-Link that I used last before swapping would require a reboot about once every 1-2 months regularly. The others have various range, reliability, and performance issues. The AEBS doesn't have as many advanced features as some of the others out in the market and won't win many head-to-head benchmarks, but it is definitely a reliable and well-performing solution to most people's needs at home.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #12
    You are right. I am sure it is a good solution to use at home, since few people will be connect, but I did not let clear that I will use the AE in a university. I am estimating from 10 to 15 users per AE. That's why I am asking for people's opinion.

    I also had problems with D-Link and Netgear, so no way to use this kind of AP.

    Thanks!
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #13
    Of all the brands I have setup I have found the AE to consistently be the most reliable router on the market. Once they are configured they just keep working. Unless you are going to go the full Cisco route the AE is the best consumer grade equipment out there.

    By full Cisco route. I don't mean the rebranded Linksys or Cisco small business junk. I'm talking about the $1,000+ enterprise grade equipment.

    As for these Airport Extremes I assume you will simply be using them in bridge mode as access points. With a much higher end router actually managing network traffic. As that router would be dealing with the sum of users connecting to the Airport Extremes. Unless each will just be it's own network with it's own internet connection.
     
  14. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #15
    I don't own one, and I'm a big apple fan. However let me tell u why I don't own one, the apple AirPort Extreme doesn't support qos functions which I need for my VoIP/ooma, to ensure quality connections for priority devices. Something u might think about of u decide to go VoIP in the future
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #16
    I have used various wifi routers over the years including two incarnations of the Airport Extreme. I have one stored in a box for testing purposes only and the other I gave to a friend to get started with wifi.

    It would be wise to check out a site like smallnetbuilder which covers plenty of routes, NAS, and more. They have ratings, tests with results and conclusions on various routers that might be ideal for your needs.

    As for me, I found that a middle of the line router with 7 Ethernet ports actually did far better than the AE in general. I can say that using two AE in bridge mode works reasonably well.

    There are various tweaks that can be used with most routers and the AE is no exception. Then again, there are some obvious blunders and blocks with many makers and their firmwares that prevent truly optimizing your system for max in/out-put.

    So in short, hope over to smallnetbuilder and if anything, it might give you some things to look out for and some how to fix information.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    MA
    #17
    What's the scenario, exactly?

    My university (~22k students, 5k fac) uses Cisco Aironet APs throughout all residence halls and in campus buildings. These are wired to switches in each building, and are centrally managed through software. We recently got the residence halls professionally surveyed to optimize wireless coverage.

    I just bought an Apple Extreme for home use and really like it, but I absolutely would not recommend a consumer-grade access point for an enterprise use.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    #18
    Airport Extreme

    The Airport Extreme is the best router I have come across. We use it at our church building where 30-50 devices will join it without a hiccup. It's an incredibly stable piece of engineering, minimal setup.

    The new Extreme extends the range farther than I even anticipated.
     
  19. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #19
    I'm still using a 2nd generation AEBS and it's been rock solid since day one. Even with the new AC version that was recently released, I have no need to upgrade as of yet.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Brandon, MS
    #20
    It is possible to set up some sort of wireless "mesh" using Airport Extremes, but if you are installing more than a couple in a university or business setting, you want to go with something else, such as Cisco or something else with software to manage all of the AP's. I'm starting to like Motorola, since they seem to offer better products for the money than Cisco these days. If only corporate would let us get the Motorola "keg" for the test track and car yard...
     
  21. macrumors 68030

    PinkyMacGodess

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest America.
    #21
    Depending on the Cisco model, you might get better range, but the Airport Extreme is a solid choice in my book. I've used three in a rather bizarre house built with steel studs, and some other exotic materials, and they just work. I had a few of the Airport Express blow a capacitor, usually just out of warranty. I don't think they were meant to run 24x7x365.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #22
    It was better than the Linksys I had and has a friendlier UI. I did wish it had another ethernet port at first, now almost everything on my network is wireless. Nevertheless, I sold it for the cleaner setup and OTA backup capability of the Time Capsule.
     
  23. macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #23
    I definitely recommend the Airport Routers.

    At my office I have a 4th gen AEBS handling the main routing duties, connected to a 24 port gigabit switch with a 2nd AEBS on the opposite side of the office to help with the WiFi signal.

    I have all 24 ports of the gigabit switch being used as well as 6 iPad Mini's, 4 iPads, 5 iPhones, 6 WiFi Macs and my connections and speed have been just great.
    Also I have yet to do a forced restart on the router, only times I've restarted were after configuration or software updates since 2009 when I installed the AEBS's.
     

Share This Page