Do you want to erase this iphone & sync with this library?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by PYT1986, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #1
    Ok I have been searching for days about this now and I still cannot find a simple answer, and the reassurance I need.. I know there are a million posts about this, but they just don't answer it simply for me...

    I am trying to sync my iphone 4 with my itunes because I can no longer update the music on my phone.

    I get the message "Do you want to erase this iphone & sync with this itunes library."

    If I click yes, to erase & sync, will I;
    - Lose my contacts?
    - Lose my photos?
    - Lose my messages?

    Or does this only erase & sync up music & apps?

    I have transferred my apps to my itunes library, but the box to 'Sync Apps' is not ticked. Do I need to tick these boxes for apps, music, photos if I am going to erase & sync, or do I leave them unticked?

    I have backed up my iphone with itunes.
    I really do not want to lose my messages & contacts.

    Any simple advice please?????
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #2
    If you erase and sync, you will lose everything.

    My suggestion is to erase and sync, then restore from your backup. If it is recent, everything will remain as it was.

    I've also read that it is possible to allow your phone to be synced with multiple machines, although I don't know how to do this hopefully somebody else can chime in on that, as I would also like to know.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    http://www.andrewgrant.org/2008/03/30/how-to-sync-an-iphone-with-two-or-more-computers.html

    This it?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #4
    Ok good to know.

    So if I right click on my iPhone in iTunes and click 'Back up' then click erase and sync, it'll wipe everything? Then do I go restore and it'll back it up to what I just saved?? :-/
     

Share This Page