Do your games unexpectly quit randomly every so often

Discussion in 'Games' started by PowermacG5, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. PowermacG5 macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #1
    Ive been playing allied assualt, spearhead, and americas army and they unexpectly quit more than id like. Im running panther my powemac g5.
     
  2. Rezet macrumors 6502a

    Rezet

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, United States of America
    #2
    So Far, I havent noticed anything like that on my G5. Although It seems many games have some glitches in panther I didn't see in jaguar.
    One thing though, if they quit for no reason, it maybe because of a type of a ram you have.
    I bought a gig of ram at crucial.com and it seems to work fine.
     
  3. yamabushi macrumors 65816

    yamabushi

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    #3
    1. Make sure you are using good RAM and that you have enough.
    2. Remove any system hacks that you have running.
    3. Kill any unneeded processes running in the background that might interfere and consider uninstalling suspect programs.
    4. Repair permissions.
    5. Update your OS and software.
    6. Tweak system and game settings. Disabling File Vault can be a big help for starters.
    7. Repair permissions again.
     
  4. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #4
    I think i know what triggers it

    Ive been playing moh AA and i constantly quicksave so i can get a head shot on everysingle guy. so its insane amount of quicksaves. I did buy my 2 512 moduals of ram from crucial. I was running a terminal program called X back.
    I will repair permission now.
     
  5. hardon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    UK Kent
    #5
    yea since i upgraded to panther i get random "unexpected quits" all the damn time .. especialy when im doin greeeeat!!

    im playin RTCW and the ram rocks .. so must be panther, cmon apple sort it out!

    p.s waiting for the next best WWII game to be ported to the mac,
    aspyr.com
    check this thread
     
  6. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #6
    i cant imagine the hassle of going back just for that...

    i learned my lesson. dont buy OS when first come out
     
  7. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #7
    Re: Do your games unexpectly quit randomly every so often

    No issues here with Age of Mythology,Diablo 2 1.10 and Fools errand 3.0 - thanks Cliff Johnson for keeping a game running that was written in 1987 and still runs on a G5 with 10.3.1.
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    I get unexpected quits from games all the time on my 10.3.1 iBook. I'm using proper Apple memory. I don't know what's causing it, and to be honest, I don't really care anymore cause I'm getting a G4 soon :)

    Unless, of course, it's a software problem, and I go and propagate it onto my new system :(
     
  9. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Yes, all the time (I know what your thinking, XP crap, blah, blah.) However it has alot more to do with my graphics card overheating. It gets so hot that I cant even touch it, I leave the doors off my computer to help the situation since it runs about 5-7 degrees C cooler.
     
  10. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    1. Proper Apple memory = Samsung Memory,
    2. Probabley overheating.
     
  11. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #11
    XP thing? I have had a mac since my Macintosh LC
     
  12. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

    manitoubalck

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Hey, I've still got mine
     
  13. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #13
    Macs dont overheat unless you over clock them.

    I had this problem last night after having the computer on for about 3 days... but a restart solved the problem. If it doesnt for you, repair permissions and run a disk repair.
     
  14. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    I haven't seen it so much with games, but a couple of applications seem to have memory protection errors and fall over. The UT preview for Mac OS X is the only game that does it consistently for me.
     
  15. hardon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    UK Kent
    #15
    whats this?

    EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
    Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000084


    EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0002)
    Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000084

    damn xxxxxxx thing
    :mad:
     
  16. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #16
    Bad access is where the system or an application has:

    1) used memory at that location, de-allocated it, and tried to use it again

    OR

    2) tried to use memory that it never allocated

    The kernel protection failure happens at a lower level, usually in a dynamic library which accesses the system too closely. Are you running another application while you're playing--iChat--for example? If it's not that, then, I would guess that you have customisations--haxies, on your system.
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    Hmm, I've got 2 modules of Apple memory, and neither of them are Samsung. One is Micron, and the other is Kingmax. The Micron came with the iBook, and I bought the Kingmax from a 3rd-party, who said it was an Apple module.
     
  18. yamabushi macrumors 65816

    yamabushi

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    #18
    I believe Apple currently uses only Micron(aka Crucial) or Samsung in systems that they ship. Kingmax is most certainly not Apple memory. You can buy many different brands of memory that are supposed to be compatible with Macs but the quality of some of these brands is quite low and can cause problems. Try removing the Kingmax memory and see if you still get unexpected quits.
     
  19. PowermacG5 thread starter macrumors regular

    PowermacG5

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #19
    What kind of ram does crucial ship. Isnt it it made by crucial

    Anyway whoever said quit ichat while playing games.. might be on to something becuase that has been working for me so far
    :)
     

Share This Page