Does an HDMI splitter exist? No more HDMI ports on my TV : /

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by chrono1081, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. chrono1081
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a PS3, Cable Box, and Apple TV. All three use HDMI. My TV only has two HDMI ports and a DVI port so I thought I'd just buy a DVI to HDMI adapter to solve the problem. Anyway I forgot that DVI doesn't carry audio :/ (Too bad I forgot about that before the adapter arrived).

    Anyway is there a way to hook up all three systems with only two HDMI and one DVI port? Any suggestions on how to do this?
     
  2. Hellhammer
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Of course there are, here is one. I got one for my dad as Christmas present as his projector has only one HDMI port and DVI cuts some of the picture for some reason.
     
  3. Queso
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    You're lucky. Our supposedly "HD Ready" TV only has one DVI port, meaning that we have to use optical audio cables into our surround sound system to get any audio at all :D
     
  4. macman05
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #4
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0018DQYQ2/ref=ord_cart_shr?ie=UTF8&m=ACAF5B1M3UCTZ

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=1011301&p_id=6192&seq=1&format=1#largeimage
     
  5. jcschlic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #5
    No offense, but why didn't you just google "HDMI splitter"?
     
  6. jimglidewell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #6
    Well, if he had done so, he would have bought the wrong thing.

    "Splitters" take one input and provide multiple outputs

    "Switches" take multiple inputs and provide one output.

    He wants a switch, in this case.

    My advice is to get one that:

    1) has at least one extra input
    2) has an remote control

    Monoprice is where I got my (older) HDMI switch.

    This one looks like a good bet:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?p_id=5081
     
  7. jmmo20
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #7
    just make sure the switch/hub you buy is HDCP-complaint otherwise the appleTV will refuse to play some rented content.

    I bought the cheapest one from Amazon and it works just great.
     
  8. chrono1081
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #8
    Thanks guys for all the suggestions! I could not re-find this thread for the life of me.

    @jcschlic - None taken. I googled but came up with all sorts of stuff and checking ratings of things they were all getting 1 - 2 star ratings so I figured I may be looking at the wrong type of thing.
     

Share This Page