Does an HDMI splitter exist? No more HDMI ports on my TV : /

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by chrono1081, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a PS3, Cable Box, and Apple TV. All three use HDMI. My TV only has two HDMI ports and a DVI port so I thought I'd just buy a DVI to HDMI adapter to solve the problem. Anyway I forgot that DVI doesn't carry audio :/ (Too bad I forgot about that before the adapter arrived).

    Anyway is there a way to hook up all three systems with only two HDMI and one DVI port? Any suggestions on how to do this?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Of course there are, here is one. I got one for my dad as Christmas present as his projector has only one HDMI port and DVI cuts some of the picture for some reason.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    You're lucky. Our supposedly "HD Ready" TV only has one DVI port, meaning that we have to use optical audio cables into our surround sound system to get any audio at all :D
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #4
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0018DQYQ2/ref=ord_cart_shr?ie=UTF8&m=ACAF5B1M3UCTZ

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...d=1011301&p_id=6192&seq=1&format=1#largeimage
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #5
    No offense, but why didn't you just google "HDMI splitter"?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #6
    Well, if he had done so, he would have bought the wrong thing.

    "Splitters" take one input and provide multiple outputs

    "Switches" take multiple inputs and provide one output.

    He wants a switch, in this case.

    My advice is to get one that:

    1) has at least one extra input
    2) has an remote control

    Monoprice is where I got my (older) HDMI switch.

    This one looks like a good bet:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?p_id=5081
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #7
    just make sure the switch/hub you buy is HDCP-complaint otherwise the appleTV will refuse to play some rented content.

    I bought the cheapest one from Amazon and it works just great.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #8
    Thanks guys for all the suggestions! I could not re-find this thread for the life of me.

    @jcschlic - None taken. I googled but came up with all sorts of stuff and checking ratings of things they were all getting 1 - 2 star ratings so I figured I may be looking at the wrong type of thing.
     

Share This Page