Does anyone know anything about the "Student and Teacher" edition of MS Office Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by thomasp, Nov 29, 2004.

1. thomasp macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I am soon (well, about August next year) to be getting a new mac as I will be starting University in September/October next year, and my poor old G3 iMac is a little slow :) I have realised that Microsoft Office is an essential piece of software for my Mac, while I'm at university.

After browsing Amazon.co.uk for prices for MS Office, I stumbled across this product: Microsoft Office 2004 for Mac, "Student and Teacher" addittion: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos...994/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl/202-2132988-7003012 - it appears to be a full version of Office 2004, for Mac, with more features (well, a few more templates), a license to install it on three computers AND its only a third of the price of the standard edition :eek:

As I am a full time student (in the UK), it seems stupid to spend over £300 on a product when you can buy a practically identical one for less than £100. Therefore, I have a couple of questions about this product that the Microsoft site doesn't seem to answer:

1. How do Microsoft know you're a full-time/part-time student - what is there to stop an employed and working person buying this software?

2. Has anyone used it? And if so, is it any good?

3. What is Office 2004 like in general - is it stable?

4. (General MS Office question): Can you open and save AppleWorks files?

5. Should I buy this version, instead of the £300 standard edition?

Thanks for the help :)

2. Maxicek macrumors regular

1. I think I read an interview with someone from M$ when it was released saying that they were relying on peoples honest. If you read the stuff on the M$ UK website, it is available to parents with children in full time education - even if they are 5!

2. Yes, its the same as normal Office from what I have used of it.

3. Hasn't crashed on me yet.