Does anyone know how to make icons?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by klymr, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    I'm trying to make icons for my Mac, but I can't figure out how to make a transparent background on these things. Can anyone steer me in the right direction? I'm using photoshop if that makes a difference.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #2
    A great free program for this is Iconic. You can find it on www.versiontracker.com

    Just design your icon in photoshop, 128x128 pixels, save it as a .psd with transparent background, drag&drop it to iconic and you have your icon.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    I tried that iconic program. It kept saying it was processing, but it'd flash through real quick and stop. I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong or what. I'll give it another try again later.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    mergatroidal

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    icons?

    I'm a big fan of Graphic Converter. A very versatile program once you know how to use it. :)

    Use the app for free, for how ever long it takes till your conscience pesters you to purchase a license for it.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #5
    Iconic turns the preview of the psd file in finder into the icon, it doesn't generate a new file. So it is possible that you saw no result, you see it if you make the original psd file icon bigger in icon view and select it. You can then copy paste it to be your hd icon, or a folder or whatever. You can also rename it to be .icns instead of .psd.

    And it doesn't have to be a psd file, png with transparent background works as well. Sorry for not being more specific before.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    That's what I mean. I made a transparent background .png and tossed it in there and it didn't do anything. It still came out with a white background. I'll give it another shot later tonight.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #7
    That's all I ever use whenever I'm creating iconsets for client, it's probably the best option for when you are creating icons in Photoshop.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #8

    Hm, very strange... :confused:

    And since this program is so simple there is actually nothing you could have done wrong. I'm sorry I can't help you further, on my machine I never had a problem with it. :(
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    I tried again, and when I tossed the .psd in there, it changed from the little thumbnail to the PSD icon. I tried it again with a .png and it did the same. I'll keep playing around until I figure something out.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    MontCo., PA
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #11
    English please. KIDDING. I don't really know what you are talking about, but I did a google search during class and found another program that worked. I got most of my icon changed, but a few of them won't work, Adobe Illustrator included (FWIW, Photoshop and InDesign changed over fine). It's kinda annoying. Oh well.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #12
    You need to add an alpha layer for "true" transparency.
     

Share This Page