Resolved Does anyone know why "MTMD" is using all my CPU?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by jake4ever, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. jake4ever, Feb 27, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #1
    Hi all,

    I am using a Macbook 5,1. 2.0 Ghz, 2gb ram...

    All of a sudden my computer gets super hot and all CPU is being used by "MTMD"
    HELP!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Which user is running "MTMD"? And are you sure it is called "MTMD" and not "mds"? "mds" is the Spotlight indexing service and runs for a while after first boot.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #3
    MTMD. This is the 3rd- 4th boot...
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    It seems to be part of the Time Machine "backupd.bundle". Do you run Time Machine with Mac OS X 10.7?
    It seems to be not running in Mac OS X 10.6, but only 10.7, though I don't run TM on 10.7 or 10.6. It is not even part of the 10.6 "backupd.bundle" as it is in 10.7.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    you should ask the Apple's Developers Forums instead of asking here. They'll have better answers then us.

    that's assuming you didn't just pirate the damned thing...
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #7
    Agreed. If you have an account, here's the link:

    https://devforums.apple.com/community/mac/lion

    If not, well consider getting the account. The developer forums help.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #8
    Disable Local Snapshots

    1. I have found that this is tied to the new "local snapshot" feature of time machine, which is enabled regardless of whether or not you use TimeMachine.

    System Preferences > Time Machine > Options, Deselect Create Local Snapshots, restart. Fixed the problem for me!

    2. You just really don't need to question where people are getting their copies of Lion. There's no point other than to just give yourself some sort of false sense of satisfaction. People who put alpha stage software on their machines are all clearly hobbyists. Don't hate your own kind.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #9
    Thanks! And no, I do not have a developer account, because I was invited to test the seed from Apple (I know a lot of the people there, and NOBODY answers their phones...) :D
     

Share This Page