Does Applekey + K in firefox work the same way as it does in windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by LoveMacMini, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. LoveMacMini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #1
    I often go to the search bar by just hitting ctrl+k on my windows keyboard

    i'm thinking on the mac it's just applekey+k

    can anyone confirm?
     
  2. FredClausen macrumors regular

    FredClausen

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    KALM
    #2
    Couldn't you try it yourself?

    It pops up a search box in my copy of FF on OS X.
     
  3. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
  4. LoveMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
  5. LoveMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #5
    what do you mean a search box
     
  6. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
  7. FredClausen macrumors regular

    FredClausen

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    KALM
    #7
    It doesn't jump to the bar at the top, it pops up a search box.

    Edit: looks like this
     
  8. LoveMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
  9. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #9
    Command-Option-F will throw you into the Google search box in Safari.
     
  10. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #10
    Is there a site that lists all of the Firefox shortcuts for OSX? I love Firefox, but it's a bear to get used to using it on OSX. Thanks for any info.
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    It does focus to search box at the toolbar. In your case, it did not jump there because you removed search box from toolbar!!!
     
  12. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #12
    I didn't know this shortcut. This is a handy little tip. Sweet.
     
  13. FredClausen macrumors regular

    FredClausen

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    KALM
    #13
    Indeed. I thought I had the google search on there, but I only had the google toolbar. Adding in the search box and pressing command k does exactly what it should.
     
  14. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #14
    LOL go through all the trouble to post when You can press two keys. Funny. Don't mean to be an ass. sry
     

Share This Page