does compressor 4 play nicely with final cut express?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Keebler, Sep 26, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi folks,

    Can you export out of final cut express into compressor 4?

    A colleague is doing basic edits so buying final cut X isn't necessary if compressor 4 works with final cut express?

    I'm assuming they could output the necessary .mov files then import into compressor 4 and use the required presets?

    Cheers,
    Keebler
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #2
    Yep, that's the way.

    As you seem to use only presets: Is there a specific codec you need that is not in FCE? I only used Compressor to batch convert or to make mpeg 2 for DVD authoring. Otherwise, the codecs in FCE were fine for me. You just couldn't go on editing while it was rendering.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Thanks.

    Not really a specific codec, but a need to batch more than 1 client file at a time, plus possibly 2 different file/code types. ie. record the footage, edit client A, edit client B, then run their files overnight or over a few hours before uploading.

    Cheers,
    Keebler
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    thanks. I'll pass that along.
     

Share This Page