Does "Convert higher bitrate songs to 128 kbps AAC for this iPod" option exist?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by kavika411, May 11, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    kavika411

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    Thank you for reading this. It is my understanding that there was once a method - in iTunes - for downsizing higher bitrate songs when synching. Apparently, it was an option that read "Convert higher bitrate songs to 128 kbps AAC for this iPod," and that option was available for the shuffle and/or that iTunes-friendly phone that came out a while ago.

    Is that option still around? If so, is it not available for all model iPods? If it is not available for all model iPods, does anyone know why it is not? Thanks.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Still only for Shuffles, I think. Possibly Nanos, although having never owned a Nano, I'm guessing here...

    You can either use an AppleScript to do this (see link), or keep two separate libraries (like I used to) or keep them altogether (lossless and AAC) in the same library and manage the iPod with a smart playlist that selects only the AACs.

    Lossless to AAC Workflow v1.4
    http://dougscripts.com/itunes/scripts/scripts07.php?page=1#losslessaccworkflow
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #3
    It's so annoying that Apple hasn't opened this option up on all iPod's/iPhones. It worked on the iPhone 0.5 (ROKR), can't they just enable the option for all iPods? I want to keep my lossless songs on my hard drive and play the AAC version on my iPhone like I could with my ROKR. I upgraded to an iPhone and took a step back in functionality...two copies of songs is not a solution either as the playcounts won't be in sync.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    BENI

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #4
    It also works for my 80gb ipod classic so i reckon it's just a new feature for all ipods. anyway its silly to think it would only work for some ipods as it is clearly a new itunes feature not a new ipod feature. What would be the point in not making it available to anybody running out of space (even if it is more applicable to the shuffle with less space)? even i don't sync my whole library to my 80gb cos i run out of space.

    if my old 80gb classic supports it i would assume it works for any other model.
    Only the touch and the iphone have different firmware & software so if any were unsupported it would be them, but i doubt it.

    quite a nice little feature for the average (less discerning) listener. And frankly even with very good headphones you would have to listen very hard to spot a lack of quality even compared to the original CD. So don't worry about experimenting (though it does take AGES! to sync the first time) cos it leaves the originals in the library intact so u can always return to the better quality should it bother u. also you can listen to the higher quality on your computer.

    PS this option has only been available to me in the latest update, so maybe it was limited to shuffles previously. i don't know about that but it is here for me now (since yesterdays update - itunes version 9.1)

    good luck
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    9.1 added it for all devices, though you can only select 128Kbps and no other.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    #6
    I noticed this for my iPod touch as well. Doesn't this count as transcoding though? I know dropping a 320 or 256 kbps Mp3 or AAC down to 128 is a loss (but not by much with AAC being so good, IMO) but with transcoding comes even more loss? Is the AAC Codec so advanced by now that loss from transcoding is a thing of the past or does it still exist with this option?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #7
    How does this work

    I have this option for my wife's Nano. We don't have enough space and I am thinking clicking on the "convert higher bit rate songs to 128 kps AAC" in the iPods summary screen when plugged in.

    The trouble is will it create a duplicate file on my hard drive, taking up unnecessary space or does it convert my higher bit rate songs?

    Or does do what i am hoping it will do, keep my higher bit rate songs as they are, not create duplicates on my Mac and just create 128 kps files on my ipod?

    Cheers if someone can clarify.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Galley

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    iTunes will not create any duplicates in your library.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #9
    What a pain that only 128 can be selected - I'd rather have the choice of several. Anyone know a get-around? I like to store in Apple lossless and this is troublesome. But if iTunes could convert to decent rates on-the-fly it'd be a solution.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    #10
    I thought about the same thing. If 256 was available rather then 128, I'd keep everything that I own in ALAC in my iTunes library instead, so it just gets compressed for the ipod on the go. Of course some of my over 256 mp3's would be affected, but bearing AAC in mind it's not a terrible quality loss.
     
  11. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #11
    In my opinion, two variables are required. I agree that the "target rate" should be configurable (I'd use 256), but also the definition of "higher bitrate"; I'd probably set this so that anything exceeding 320 kb/s (ie. lossless files) would be compressed. That way, my handful of 320 kb/s AACs would not be downconverted.
     
  12. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    Good idea. I was thinking of 2 and 3. But your 1 seems useful too.

    Time to write to http://www.apple.com/feedback/ unless someone has more ideas?
    1) Target bit rate in addition to 128, such as 256
    2) Option for what to convert: such as, anything above 320 kb/s
    3) Option for cached folder for converted files (good for those with loseless library, and multiple iPhone / iPad)
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #13
    i plugged in my nano and i check off the convert to 128kbps but its not doing anything and i hit apply. i have songs that are 256. how can i get this to do this. btw i have my songs manually added on the nano.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  16. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #16
    Micheal, are you looking under the main entry for your iPod? It should be a check box. I've never used it, but it's actually a pretty cool feature. Yeah, having it selectable would be cool, but 128Kb/s MPEG4 seems like a good level if you're low on space.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #17
    I did check off that box and I click apply nothing happens.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #18
    Weird. I've never actually done it so I'm not sure what's supposed to happen. Maybe it only does it when you actually copy audio over? But doesn't touch the audio already on the iPod? :confused:
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    #19
    I've just been fooling around with it on my ipod touch. It does convert only when you copy over audio AFTER it's been checked, I think audio on the device before its been checked is grandfathered into it at it's original bitrate unless removed and re added. I guess this feature is useful if you manually manage your music on your iPod. I still wish there was an advanced option for this feature like 256kbps/vbr options, only convert lossless formats..etc..

    Do you guys think there is a way to go into itunes source code and change the option from 128 CBR (HQ) to 256 VBR (iTunes Plus). Given that these two options are easy drop down options from the import settings, the ipod option has to basically mirror the 128 import option, making it maybe easier to find, and then replace it with the iTunes plus option.
     
  20. afd
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #20
    I enabled this on my 3G iPhone and got an extra 1 1/2 GB. But every time I sync it seems to update about 200 songs on the iPhone, which takes forever on my G5 iMac. This happens without any change to selected playlists. Anyone else found this happens? Might not be such a problem on a more modern computer.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #21
    It happens on my late '07 iMac too if that's any consolation. I've also tried it with a 2G iPod Touch and a brand new iPod Nano. It'll convert and sync the whole library fine but when I reconnect the iPod it'll choose anything from 300 to 4 tracks to re-sync :confused:

    I'm guessing it's still bust despite the recent iTunes update and I'm not so fussed about it that I'm gonna start re-building my iTunes library or anything.
     
  22. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #22
    Could they be ones you've since listened to on either the PC or iPod? Like maybe since the file is changed (the play count is updated), it decides it needs to resync the file?

    If that's it, it sort of makes sense. Otherwise that seems super annoying.

    I *think* that enabling encryption for my iPod backups makes things take a lot longer too. That process pegs one of my CPUs at 100% for quite a while. I haven't turned it on yet for my new iPod. Honestly I'm not sure there's a point, given that all the info on my iPod is already on my PC too, so having it encrypted in the backup doesn't seem to really help anything. Now if all the data stored in flash on the iPod were encrypted, THAT would be cool, to hopefully prevent anyone from recovering anything if you lose it.
     
  23. afd
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #23
    I wondered that too, so after syncing for a few hours last night ( it was almost finished then someone called me...) I pulled it out the dock and put it back in, it then "updated" 209 songs. I hadn't touched iTunes all night.

    Duncyboy- I'm not going to rebuild my library either, that tick in the checkbox is gone, at least till the next iTunes upgrade, or iMac upgrade....
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #24
    Oookay, that's officially weird then :-D Probably broken.

    I wish they'd fix smart playlists on the touch again, but at least they fixed the playback location problem, which was a MUCH bigger deal to me :)
     
  25. afd
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25
    currently syncing without the tick. I's now "copying" 206 songs (I think now it was 206 last night too the same songs are appearing) looks like this is not necessarily a new problem, I just never noticed before because it was copying and not converting. Can't see a connection with what it's copying though. It's a mixture of MP3s, songs I have ripped with iTunes from CDs(aac), iTunes purchases and amazon purchases. A few whole albums of various types too.
    Weird, like you said.
     

Share This Page