Does FCP4 upgrade work with FCP3 academic?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DreaminDirector, Oct 3, 2003.

  1. DreaminDirector macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #1
    I've been searching the net for the answer to this and I have yet to find anything. So, I come to my favorite site for answers and advice...

    Does Final Cut Pro 4 upgrade (the $400 upgrade) work with Final Cut Pro 3 Academic version?

    Apple doesn't offer an academic upgrade to 4 and I dont want to buy the FULL upgrade only to find out it's not compatible, hence a 400 dollar mistake (Apple doesn't accept "open box" software returns...)

    Anyone tried it and it worked or know of any info that might point me to the right direction of the answer?


    Thanks guys (and gals)!
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    We were discussing this the other day, but the not-quite-sure conclusion of "YES" wasn't worth risking $400 over. Why not call the Apple Store and ask?
     
  3. LimeLite macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #3
    The answer is absolutely yes. There was a very recent thread about this, you might want to search the threads next time because there's a good chance you'll find the answer to a lot of questions there.

    But yes, the full upgrade for 4 will absolutely work with the academic version of 3.
     
  4. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    I'm pretty sure most academic software is not eligable for upgrades. But yeah, why not just call apple?
     
  5. DreaminDirector thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #5
    Thanks guys for the quick response.

    I tried searching the threads didn't find a definitive answer so I wanted to see if I could get a direct answer from you guys before I called Apple.

    I wanted to see if anyone had successfully upgraded without problems.

    My next step was to call Apple anyway. I'll report back with my findings whenever I get them.


    Thanks!
     
  6. LimeLite macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #6
  7. DreaminDirector thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #7
    Thanks LimeLite. I just also got off the phone with one of the Apple Stores and they said exactly what was in the thread link above. It's not really something Apple talks about, but Final Cut Pro 3 Academic can be upgrade to FCP4 FULL if you have the valid serial number.

    Thanks again LimeLite for the link.

    Off I go to spend 400 bucks....
     
  8. DreaminDirector thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DreaminDirector

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Location:
    Ladera Ranch, CA
    #8
    The answer is absolutely.

    FCP3 academic does upgrade to full FCP4 with the upgrade package (the $400 one)

    p.s. - LiveType is F***** SWEET!
     

Share This Page