Does Final Cut Universal work on PC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by makintosh, Jan 14, 2007.

  1. makintosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #1
    Since iMac and PC have Intel chips, I wonder
    if final cut universal version would work on PC. Thank you!:confused:
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
  3. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #3
    The CPUs may be the same, but the operating systems are completely different and incompatible.

    --Eric
     
  4. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Only if you are running a hacked and pirated copy of OS X on the PC. :confused: :confused:

    Universal just means that the application is compiled for Intel in addition to PowerPC but only runs on OS X.

    A distinct Windows release is required for Windows -- sort of like Apple does for iTunes and Quicktime.

    At this time Final Cut doesn't swing in that direction.
     
  6. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #6
    Since Final Cut Studio is expensive, and Macs run Windows, the easiest solution would be to buy a Mac.
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Hmmm...

    This isn't the first time I've seen someone confuse "Universal" with "plays on both PCs and Macs."

    For the record, "Universal" in this sense refers to its ability to run natively on PPC and Intel Macs. It seems a better job needs to be done explaining this if people still aren't getting it.
     

Share This Page