does firewire cable come with powermac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by wormy, Feb 25, 2003.

  1. wormy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    #1
    just wondering if apple includes a firewire cable with a new power mac or if I need to buy one myself.
     
  2. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #2
    -wormy

    Good question. Every PMG4 I've purchased up throught the Quicksilver has a 6-pin to 4-pin FireWire cable. Now that's not a full Firewire cable of course. So I guess the answer is no.
     
  3. wormy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    #3
    thanks! actually I only need a 4 pin to 6 pin cable. any idea how long it is?
     
  4. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #4
    My MDD PowerMac did not come with any sort of FireWire cable.
     
  5. Nipsy macrumors 65816

    Nipsy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #5
    Neither my Quicksilver nor my MDD came with a FireWire cable.
     
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    Nor did mine. And neither of my TiPBs came with one.

    Usually the peripherals (hard drive, camera, etc.) come with the cable.
     
  7. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #7
    So far all of the firewire peripherals I have bought have come with firewire cables.

    The only reasons I can think of why someone might need to buy a firewire cable are:
    1. Need a longer (or shorter) cable.
    2. Use a Mac in firewire target mode and they have no cables.
    3. replace a bad/damaged cable
     
  8. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #8
    My iMac CRT came with one, but now I've noticed that Apple no longer puts cables in for free, you have to pay $30 for one from Apple. Thats a really dumb idea to not provide cables any more because first time users like being to use iMovie out of the box!
     
  9. wormy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    #9
    Oh ok, I bought a Sony DVCAM deck and it didnt come with one. Guess I'll just order one from Apple before my computer gets here.
     
  10. wormy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    #10
    One more question, is the Firewire 400 I/O on the power mac 4 or 6 pin? Just want to make sure I get the right cable.
     
  11. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  12. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #12
    it is 6 on the computer.

    6pins= powered firewire
    4pins= unpowered cable
     
  13. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #13
    Don't buy one from Apple. Get a Belkin or other major name brand one you will pay half the price.
     
  14. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #14
    none of the macs come with them anymore, they used to. all the macs come with a modem wire but thats it. the powermacs come with a usb extension because they know people like to put their powermacs on the floor and the keyboard needs to reach if they dont have an apple monitor.

    iJon
     
  15. yzedf macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #15
    cat5 cable too ;)
     
  16. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #16
    No free FireWire cable with my TiBook 500. All I got was a modem cable.
     
  17. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #17
    I believe that now they no longer come with an extension cable for the usb either, now what ADC monitors have the handy USB ports on the back... which is really sad because the cable is so short.
     
  18. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #18
    If they don't come with the USB extension that would be a very recent thing. My Dual/GHz/DDR PowerMac I got in August came with one.
     
  19. timbloom macrumors 6502a

    timbloom

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    #19
    Well then, I must be wrong then, when I recently worked at a computer store they did not come with them, but I went back to college right when the MDD's started to ship. That could explain it.
     
  20. wormy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    #20
    Hmmm, I've heard from some Final Cut users that they've had problems with some non-Apple cables and their dv decks. I'm just gonna stick with Apple. $27 w/free shipping doesn't seem so bad after taking a trip tp Best Buy or Radioshack.
     
  21. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #21
    No need to deal with idiot clerks, no need to go and find out they don't have any.

    And the cables aren't really that much less expensive unless you go with a no-name cable. Which means you have no clue what you're really getting.
     
  22. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #22
    I got one with my iMac DV, but not with my iBook. I guess they included them in the iMac DV's probably because they were touting digital video at the time.
     
  23. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #23
    Love that "modem" wire. I have a hundred extra phone line cables (cat3, right?) lying around. Is the modem cable any different from those? :rolleyes:

    Why not just call it a "phone cord," or would it sound like less of a bargain if that's what they called it?:confused:
     

Share This Page