Does if matter what computer it is?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by darwen, Mar 16, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    darwen

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    California, US
    #1
    Why would if make a difference what computer is being used to dual boot. As far as I can see, all of the intel macs should be able to dual boot. Can anyone explain why some computers would not be able to?
     
  2. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    This article states that it works on minis, iMacs, and MacBook Pros - all current Intel Macs.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
    #3
    Also it appears that the 20" iMac Core Duos are unsupported until the update. I could be wrong but, that's what I've been hearing :) I'd do it now but, I don't want to re-format my iMac.

    I've also noticed that the file you put in CoreServices, I guess that's what lets the intel Mac select the boot device at startup? Or no? Just wondering if an uninstall is easy incase it screws up or something.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4
    The biggest reason some of the computers may not boot is graphics/vga. The CSM was developed on a 17" iMac, so that and 15"MBP will work (they use mostly the same hardware). The Mac Mini uses Intel GMA950 graphics, so the CSM had to be modified (the fill size) to fit the Mini's graphics.

    It's correct that the 20" iMac did not work, but last night blanka (developer behind the project) and myself made some good progress. The problem is it freezes at "Setup is Copying Files". Hopefully we should be able to get a working version of xom.efi for 20"iMacs out soon.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #5
    Even If vista could run native speed on x86 Mac (dual boot) i'd hate it.. :eek: :eek:


    Reason why: xp/vista should stay on dell/hp etc.. I'd want str8 apple hardware/software <<IMHO..

    I dont wanna have run anti-virus software on a mac even it would be windows' partition.. I already got enough win. hell as it is ..:eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Why are you in this particular forum again?
     
  7. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    17" MBP huh? do you have some information that should go up on the front page maybe? ;)
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #8
    Believe it or not but some people don't want two computers on their desk! Craziness.
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    iPhil

    #9
    Windows on a Mac image degrades the apple experience for me,and if the 'user' has external monitor/tower (mac) then a KVM switch work too :eek:

    true.. but i don't want any M$ft OS or varient of it inside of my mac :eek: :eek: ..

    this stuff i've said is IMHO .. and i'm just stating my opinion on the Win. on Mac issue :eek: :eek:
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #10
    IMHO your HO would be better suited for your own HBlog, not a sub forum dedicated to people who are/wanting to do this. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page