Does iPhone 5 have H+ in UK?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MrMister111, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    Just got an iPhone 5, had a S3 before. On my S3 it showed in the top menu, E, 3G, H, H+ at different times in areas.

    On the iPhone 5 all I get is 2G shown, do I not get the faster H+ I'm in the UK on 3?

    If not then I'm not getting the full mobile data speed am I compared to the S3?

    Cheers
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Feed Me

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Location Location
    #2
    By H+ I'm assuming that the SGS3 means HSPA+ .
    Yes, your iPhone supports HSPA+ but merely shows it as "3G" in the status bar.

    Are you sure about that 2G signal? Three doesn't have a 2G network. It's 3G or nothing.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    shenfrey

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #3
    I assume it was just a mistype
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #4
    I'm on 3 and it shows 3G. I also get up to about 28mb/s:D Every carrier in the UK will show 3G apart from EE who will show LTE when connected to an LTE network
     
  5. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #5
    Three borrows 2G network from another company (EE I think) where 3G isn't available.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #6
    I've never seen "2G". If only basic 2G is available it generally shows an "O"?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #7
    The 2G back up was dropped years ago (was first O2 and then Orange). When 3 felt signal was good enough in an area they removed the back up, and rolled it across the country till it was completely off.

    ----------

    You are right, 2G = o, EDGE = E, and then 3G.
     

Share This Page